Malakite's Colored Reviews - 1,2,3, Step


June 4th, 2010, 1:02 pm



Average Rating: None

« First Page ‹ Previous Page Next Page › Latest Page »

Author Comments:

  Malakite, June 4th, 2010, 1:02 pm


Feel free to discuss, I'll pick a new review later

  Advertisement, August 18th, 2017, 2:52 pm


Post A Comment

Reader Comments:

 

Wow! I'm surprised the status quo is the same for over 500 comics. I hope the author does follow this advice.

Change can be good and moving up the status quo can make a good story in the beginning even better.

posted by AkumaTh on June 4th, 2010, 1:18 pm



 

@ Akuma: I'm not surprised, if you actually look at the anime fandom under a microscope, there are a large sum of people who buy into this cliche shit regardless of how lame and overdone it is. It's kinda like the Yaoi on this site.

posted by Malakite on June 4th, 2010, 1:22 pm



 

Malakite, oh how I enjoy your reviews~

posted by the being on June 4th, 2010, 2:39 pm



 

It's about someone spoke out against the whole sexual tension as plot thing. Television shows that would tank in the first season can live almost indefinitely.

posted by robybang on June 4th, 2010, 3:38 pm



 

review my old comic plz :
http://halouniverse.smackjeeves.com/

posted by Jerix on June 4th, 2010, 3:44 pm



 

My favorite reviewer, right here. And with reason.

posted by SF3P0X1 on June 4th, 2010, 5:37 pm



 

@the being: Thanks, look forward to an interesting summer of them
@roby: I don't watch tv anymore because of that and other garbage cliche shows out there
@sf3pox1: Why thank you

Also I decided to take Absolution as my next review

posted by Malakite on June 4th, 2010, 5:55 pm



 

@the being and SF3POX1:
Why? Do you LIKE being flipped off?!

@Yamataro (or whoever runs this dump): You need to put more restrictions.

@Malakite: I've never read this comic, and probably never will. But any artist with a speck of passion about their art knows that it's an extension of themselves. So yes; this IS a personal offense against WalkedAway (I bothered to find out her username)"Happy Birthday WalkedAway! Your comic's a piece of Sh**!"

And if 1000 people can't distinqush between good and bad art, what makes you think YOU can?! Are the magical sage of...good...shoujo?
And for crying out loud, instead of showing us your stupid avatar giving us the finger, how about you show us some of the actual comic and prove to us that you even read it!

@Everyone: The F word is an R rated word, not an article adjective (a, the, ect)! And as a Christian, I am extremely offended by the phrase "Dear...f******...gosh" (I won't repeat it word for word)


And what's with all the guys reviewing shoujo? It's a genre for girls! So natrually, if someone outside the targeted audiance reviews it, it's gonna be a bad review!

In closing, I would someone to take my comic, Sprytts, off the list. I wanted a review because I was desperate for publicity, but rather than offering it to the judgement of a Sh** head like this, I'd rather just be thankful for the fans I have.

Letting critics review my comic was hyppocytical enough. Critics exist to destroy the happiness of people who make art, enjoy art, or pretty much anyone who enjoys life. Bye!

posted by Ultima527 on June 4th, 2010, 6:05 pm



 

I'm a girl, and I like shoujo. Malakite likes some shoujo too, I should know, seeing as I'm his girlfriend. He loves Toradora, for instance, but at least it had an array of unique characters. Also, I'm a Christian too, and I've learned a little thing about life. you can't censor life, no matter how hard you try.
Also, the author of this comic ASKED him specifically to review it, with the full knowledge of how he reviews.
Not every reviewer reviews like this, and you know what, I myself take pride in my reviews and I give constructive detailed criticism. No two reviewers are the same, and to remove yourself because of one person, specifically someone who means no ill will towards the artists unless the artists flip out over it, is rather silly to say the least.

Back on the shoujo subject, I have good shoujo. Absolute Boyfriend, Full Moon O Sagashite, Kill me, Kiss me, Hanakimi, Toradora... All of which are uniquely made and full of colorful characters and vibrant plotlines.
This particular shoujo is VERY cliche, and after so long it should have come to a close. Even the published shoujo mangas at least get some progress going between the characters. Repeated awkwardness with hardly any progress or reason to connect to, or feel for the main characters is a bad way to go. I want to know the person in love is someone worth recieving the love they desire, not just some idiot who can't figure out their own feelings after endless pages of debating it. THAT is what a shoujo should be, something that gets you rooting for the romance that you want to see, not something that makes you go "OH COME ON ALREADY YOU MORONS"

Also, the F word is PG-13, it can be used once in a PG13 movie to keep the rating.

one more thing, you should be coming for a review for criticism and critique, not for publicity. That's what a review is for. If you can't handle your comic possibly being called bad, don't ask.

"Critics exist to destroy the happiness of people who make art, enjoy art, or pretty much anyone who enjoys life."
As a reviewer, I am offended by this remark, seeing as I believe in helping other people improve, and sometimes when it's bad enough you have to be harsh to get them moving.

posted by BaldDumboRat on June 4th, 2010, 6:18 pm



 

@Ultima527: Hahahaha right on time as usual, I always expect people like you to walk through my door. So i'll just get this out on the table:

1) If you've ever read most of my reviews, you should know well enough by now that a lot of what I say in a review is clear exaggeration for the sake of amusement. This review is designed to be both informative, helpful and funny at the author's expense.
2) Actually I can distinguish good from bad shojo, wanna an example of a good one? Go watch Toradora. Secondly, I do something most of you fucking morons don't, its called READING! I read all a LOT of shoujo but thanks for playing, you lose, take this consolation prize of a tissue. I asked two of my good shoujo lover friends to read this comic and got the same response you read off my review.
3) I'll give you whatever avatar I want, it's my trademark closer for a review, never tamper with tradition.
4) Trust me, its hard to post images from 528 pages of comic, how about you just go read the damn comic yourself and then you can read my review and you'll get it.
5) Good for you that your christian, I don't give a flying fuck, I'm roman catholic, you're a branch off my religion, what's your point? So because you're an uber God lover means I have to watch my mouth about God here? I don't think so princess.
6) Hi, that wasn't a sexist comment right there. anyone can review anything they want.
7) We'll take it off the list, no loss for us really. Make sure the door doesn't hit your ass on the way out.
8) Just to let you know Yamataro does run the place, but you're looking at the part time moderator of it ^^. Please email your concerns and complaints to idontgiveaflyingfuck@letsreview.com

posted by Malakite on June 4th, 2010, 6:18 pm



 

Also, said friend in the review who said "It's girls who like boys, boys who like girls, and none of them can confess it (because they're retarded)" was in fact a quote from my best friend who is female and the biggest romance nut I have ever seen. She has well over 300 romance novels and shoujos under her belt, and when even she says this comic is bad, you better well believe her because she's fairly easy to please.

posted by BaldDumboRat on June 4th, 2010, 6:21 pm



 

i think you could've done this review better if you didn't be so rude. you could've at least, you know, tried to be nice.

n' the style does improve. trying not to be mean, but you must be blind. then again, you say you stopped caring by page 100, so you wouldn't really know, right? ):

i don't even wanna point out any other things i think that is wrong with this review. so i'll just stop here.

posted by MegamanZDevil on June 4th, 2010, 6:25 pm



 

@MegamanZDevil: Again, over exaggeration, learn to read between the lines. I said I stopped caring past 100, didn't say I stopped reading past it, It doesn't really get much better sorry, My glasses work quite well but thanks for caring about my vision. Yes and thank you for stopping, because I don't really care what you'll have to say anyways, it's my review and my opinion, like it or lump it. You're probably a fan of the comic and don't like the score and as typical of a fan you'll come attack the reviewer cause they didn't ass kiss the comic. Sorry but I don't ass kiss comics or anyone for that matter. Don't like how I review? You know where the door is to this comic page.

posted by Malakite on June 4th, 2010, 6:28 pm



 

LOL ty for the review!! XDD
Arghh, thankyou for the advice, seriously ;; Yeahhhh the story is dragging out a bit now, I'm trying to find a way to end it by the 40th chapter maximum XDD (I shouldnt really be announing that but w/e)
Truth be told, Shoujo manga isnt really my strongest point, and I feel kinda ashamed to admit that I only recently realized how cliché the story was QDQ;
The points you've made are very true, like there are alot of 'filler' chapters that I regret making now, but what's done is done T^T *sob*
Well, ty again!! Maybe one day I'll re-make it to have a higher score XDD

And, to people who want to flame this review - Please don't, all the points are valid, and I can only assume you haven't read the comic to say otherwise XD

posted by WalkedAway on June 4th, 2010, 6:43 pm



 

@Malakite: well, if you're talking about your reply to ultima527, then i didn't read that until after i posted my response. it's normal for people to not exaggerate this kind of stuff when they're mean.

n' there you go again with the rudeness. i'm not trying to start a fight, really. i'm just voicing my opinion, just like you.

i just took the whole "doesn't care about it" as "not reading" 'cause.. that's what people normally do. so, sorry if i thought the wrong thing. (:>

posted by MegamanZDevil on June 4th, 2010, 6:44 pm



 

@WalkedAway: Feel free to ask for a re-review when you finally get it done. At least that way I only have to review chapter 29 and onward ^^. Glad you enjoyed the review and happy birthday hun *many hugs*
@MegamanZDevil: Still don't get it, my rudeness is part of the character. Even now as i'm posting to you I'm posting in character ^^.

posted by Malakite on June 4th, 2010, 6:45 pm



 

@WalkedAway:
I love you for being awesome and modest and even keeping a smile on XD I always feel proud when I see an artist show they understand they need to improve ^ w^

posted by BaldDumboRat on June 4th, 2010, 6:45 pm



 

lol well as for my opinion on the review I think it was pretty well done.If you really think about it, this is no different from critiques, so be ready for the worst.Also, I kinda agree with megamanz on something tho,her style DOES improve quite a bit if you compare it to the first pages.

Ppl have different opinions about everything, so that is something ppl should respect >.> I think Mal did a pretty good job at pointing out vital things that can makes the difference between something that's worth reading and something that's not.I would've love for him to review my comics but they r really short for now. I'm gonna say I like the comic 123 step and also a fan from it, but everything Mal said was completely tru and evey1 deep inside knows it, as much as it hurts to admit it. In reality asking for opinions means taking everything he/she has to say,whether if it's good/bad,rude/nice,etc... >.>

As for WalkedAway, GAMBATTE~~ 8D I am still a fan of 123 step 8]

posted by uchiha007 on June 4th, 2010, 6:46 pm



 

@Malakite: ; A ; d-didn't realize. sorry, being so defensive here ahaha.

posted by MegamanZDevil on June 4th, 2010, 6:50 pm



 

@MegamanZDevil: No worries ^^ 80% of what I say and how I says it is greatly exaggerated for amusement purposes only.

posted by Malakite on June 4th, 2010, 6:52 pm



 

AAH sorry about this, but isnt 7+3+2+1+8 = 21..? and then 21/50x100 = 42? ^^;
SORRY OTL MATH IS AN OCD OF MINE;;;; Forgive me if I'm wrong rofl (it makes no difference to me as it's only 2 numbers differnce lmao, I just want to make sure I'm not going mad @@;)

@Malakite - aaaa ty and ty haha >u<~~~

@BaldDumboRat - LOL ty ;//A//; I don't think anyone can ever stop improving, people who say they have reached their limit are just people who've given up ><;;

@uchiha007 - Aaaa ty~~~~ TuT/ For the input, and... for liking the comic I guess??? lol XDD

@MZD - *hugggs* QuQ<333

posted by WalkedAway on June 4th, 2010, 7:13 pm



 

@WalkedAway: It appears you are correct, I have fixed the mark and re-uploaded the amended review, sorry about that I did this at like 6 am with an hour of sleep from the night before.

posted by Malakite on June 4th, 2010, 7:19 pm



 

@WalkedAway: XDD yea np 8D

posted by uchiha007 on June 4th, 2010, 8:58 pm



Post A Comment