Accursed Piece of Metal~Badx


March 14th, 2010, 10:48 am



Average Rating: None

« First Page ‹ Previous Page Next Page › Latest Page »

Author Comments:

  Advertisement, March 28th, 2017, 10:09 pm


Post A Comment

Reader Comments:

 

I love your reviews!

posted by Plazmaz on March 14th, 2010, 11:18 am



 

Oh jesus. Meteor's gonna be pissed...

Also, WHERE THE HELL ARE ALL OUR REVIEWERS!?!?

posted by Yamataro on March 14th, 2010, 12:52 pm



 

Snurpple was his OLD assed name. He prefers Meteor.

posted by Yamataro on March 14th, 2010, 1:18 pm



 

@Yam I don't wanna sound rude or anything but Yam face it, this place is more dead than a cemetery, most of your reviewers are either long gone or could care less to make reviews anymore. Half the people who comment on these complain we're too harsh on them yet most of what we review is horseshit to begin with, and those with decently good comics have like hundreds of pages to read through, we all have personal lives that are more important, so sitting here reading each of those comics and producing a good review of it is too time consuming and in a lot of cases, not worth the effort. If we were getting paid to do it, it's a different story, this is sort of like a hobby for some of us or something to cure boredom, at the end of the day we won't be here forever and we'll find something else to do. You know what, I enjoyed reviewing as much as I did over the summer and I had a lot of fun, but I've been pretty busy these days and I've been trying to get my own life together, I got a fiance that I need to move over here and I need to get the fuck out of my house already. I ain't getting any younger and the clock is ticking against me here.

So with that said, I'm officially announcing my exit from comic reviewing, I got too many things to juggle and not enough time to juggle it all. I'm even shutting down my MCC comic and deleting it this week as well. The only projects I'm going to be working on are the ones I'm collaborating with BDR. Thanks for the good times and the memories, I'll still post here from time to time though.

posted by Malakite on March 14th, 2010, 3:11 pm



 

So... you reviewing APoM or just your original incarnation of Lunar Eclipse?

posted by Dregan on March 14th, 2010, 5:17 pm



 

Wow, you would think it would be common sense to not use Bauhaus as a dialogue font. It's good for a poster header for a 60's-70's party or something, but not for dialogue. That's like using a power drill for a tattoo gun. A bloody disaster!

posted by robybang on March 14th, 2010, 5:30 pm



 

Well... This went downward fast...

posted by Yamataro on March 15th, 2010, 12:45 am



 

could you guys review any of my comics? just add them to the end of the list or something.

posted by youdont12know on March 15th, 2010, 1:43 pm



  @youdont12know

Don't you only have like, 2 solo comics, both of which haven't been updated in 4 months, neither of which have enough pages to enter?

posted by Dregan on March 15th, 2010, 3:22 pm



 

Pissed? Nah... more like don't give a shit.

As far as I can see, the reviewer of this comic just seems to be focused mostly on the negative side of the comic.

Besides, who gives a shit on the same background? Excluding you from the list...

Also, never consider giving an audience a chance to determine the protagonist's fate, unique? Once again, focused on the negative points.

Of course nothing is explained, the story is just beginning. As usual, the comics/stories starts off small with lack of explanation. It takes time and patience to see the story to unfold slowly.

Once again, I appreciate your time reviewing my comic. But honestly, seeing this... it makes me sad.

posted by Snurple-the-Hedgehog on March 15th, 2010, 3:32 pm



 

So what if his first language isn't english? What's your point? He does a really damn good job of the language. Clearly you weren't thinking of considering that because you want to give yourself some confidence and watch yourself be flamed by various users.

Now. Let me go through responding to your piece of bullshit review.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- --------------------------------------------

Okay, as noted, the Emerl characters are hardly edited, just clothed and recolored, basically. Agreed. So what? That doesn't mean you should get all "LOL IM CONFUSED WATS GOING ON" read the damn thing twice if you have to if it's not getting through to your thick skull so you can slowly take names for who's who. Unless of course, you decided to be a real asshole and know everyone's name, who they are, what's going on, and just turn it into a pile of crap like you did here.

Cameo personalities, now. Yeah, Katai from {MUTE} is here, not killing people. But you know what, I think that all characters, dispite what they've been in before, can have a different role and still keep their personality. If you read {MUTE}, you'd know that Katai had stopped killing and actually took time to rest, and cut communications off from her boss. In addition, I dunno about you(Well, actually, I do), but I managed to understand who all the characters are and all of the plot details.

About the bomb in the cafe. They're robots. Sensors, anyone? As you noted before, there's a resistance. Those Red/Yellow Emerl's are leaders of the resistance and are getting survivors of an apparent war. >_>;;

And again, you noted this as well, this is all part of one huge introduction. Intro's can be as long as they need be. One of my unfinished comics' introduction is around the same range of comics as this one's intro is. Deal with it. Don't like? Don't read. Don't care if it's your "job" to review it. It didn't deserve the scoring it got.

Ooh, yes, portal to heaven and whatnot having been terribly explained. To be honest, I don't understand that bit much myself, but it adds to creativity. To fix your confusion problem, Metaphur is the name of Meteor in his demon form. Loki is the robot who looks more like a Hedgehog/Metal Sonic rather than an Emerl. Loki's soul is either implanted inside of the robot, or he is indeed a robot made after Loki's memory. Why there's a species change, don't ask me. But it's something.

Aha, Akumaids, that's a new one. Alright. So there are beams, blasts, explosions, the typical DBZ bullshit everyone's seen a thousand times. So what? What would YOU suggest there be? Constant melee fighting? We're dealing with robots. You can expect them to be armed with something. As for the furries, it can add to creativity of the character such as names and effect of it. Tell me, Badx. What would YOU suggest the characters have instead of the random blastings of different sizes and colors? =3 And don't give me crap like "Oh, I don't know. Something NORMAL like guns or bazooka's or-" etc. Think of something creative. I want to hear what you have to say. If you give me some excuse to avoid the topic? Then you're just as worthless as this review.

And my little word in on the background issue you mentioned. I think they look fine. Excluding Filler House, which is nothing but randomness and Fillers anwyay. So what? Either way, I believe the background works. You can't just randomly change the sprite format to fix the background and then have it as something else later. That's stupid and utterly noobish.

I suppose I'm done. Disregard this if you must, but I wanted my opinion out. c:

ALL IN ALL,
This comic deserved more than just a 2 out of 10.

G'day, sir~

posted by Felix Wind on March 15th, 2010, 5:02 pm



 

Yeah... I'd do an argument rant like I usually do, but Felix already did that... so.............. all I have to say is, you fail to understand anything about comics. Good day.

I SAID GOOD DAY SIR!

posted by dvsjr on March 15th, 2010, 5:21 pm



 

I am sorry to say this out of the point but, it irritates me to say this but, to me, it seems you haven't read the whole thing with time and care. There are some links that clarifies between Loki and Meteor. I mean honestly, from what I have seen, 90% of my fans seems to understand what's going on so far.

And second of all, the robot named Loki, there's a reason to that... The plot is still thickening.

I am just having a feeling that you are too quick to judge. And for the background section? I feel like it's uncalled for too. But hey, still appreciate it.

posted by Snurple-the-Hedgehog on March 15th, 2010, 6:52 pm



 

AHA.
Yes, I am Meteor's Symbiote. I feel his pain, and I'm ready to kick your ass from your house and back if I have to. Just like Venom would.

Oh, but of course I'd also have to eat your thick head.
WHICH I'd rather not do.

posted by Felix Wind on March 15th, 2010, 7:11 pm



  @All the people who are fighting over a freaking review...

um... i got nothin to say. But I don't want to have to leave this comic... and hopefully Yama won't delete it like he has so many other author comics like this... (or, resigned anyway)

posted by Plazmaz on March 15th, 2010, 7:33 pm



 

Well, at least they actually typed like human beings for once.
It's a nice refreshment from
"i AD GREAT COMIC AUTHOR SO FK U"

posted by BaldDumboRat on March 15th, 2010, 10:13 pm



 

Im thinking about applying but idk what a dummy review is...

posted by Bruce the Hedgehound on March 16th, 2010, 8:09 pm



  @Bruce the Hedgehound

"Dummy" is synonymous with "fake" in this context. In other words, review a comic (any webcomic) in the way you normally think you would, and send it in to Yamataro.

posted by Ultimate Ridley on March 16th, 2010, 9:15 pm



  @Badx

I wanna see a comic about people that ride motorcycles and throw cards at each other now.

posted by Trev-Shyeah on March 16th, 2010, 11:58 pm



 

I want nothing to do with the argument going on here. I simply wish to add my ten cents as to why I don't really review here anymore (or why I haven't really reviewed that much at all to begin with).

First off, it seems that the older this comic gets the more harsh the reviews become. I refuse to read most of the reviews do to previous experience, but from what I've observed, it just seems to me that all the reviewers are just giving shit reviews to shit comics.

HAS NO ONE HEARD OF CONSTRUCTIVE CRITICISM?

That's a serious question, by the way. EVERY "bad" comic that gets a review here is just labeled as "trash" and the reviewer takes the better part of the review to say WHY they hated it instead of making a SINGLE suggestion to help improve the thing.

Oh, and don't give me the bullshit excuse that "this comic is beyond saving". NO ONE IS PERFECT. We ALL go through a learning curve. You would be surprised as to how far a little constructive criticism can go. Seriously, people...take some time to point out ways to IMPROVE the flaws. Don't just use the whole review to say why the comic sucked. It's reasons like this that people get pissed off when they see a review that gives a bad score. If you were tactful and TASTEFUL with your criticism then they PROBABLY WOULD BE SO FUCKING PISSED!

Secondly, when someone DOES actually make a good review, if said review is even one point to the west or east of what another reviewer thought it deserved, from this erupts a string of "WTF ARE YOU DOING?" and "you are such a n00b reviewer". WE AREN'T PROFESSIONAL REVIEWERS. Opinion WILL effect our reviews. Especially when you're a fan of the work.

Another thing related to this topic is that if everyone went into every review they do EXPECTING NOTHING then they might be a little more likely to give a good review. If you expect heaven and wind up with hell then you WILL be disappointed. If you expect nothing at all and wind up with at least SOMETHING then you might be a little more constructive with some of that flaming you'll be doing.

All that being said, I MIGHT end up doing one more review. Inbewteen then and now...if I see even so much as a TRACE of whatever I just complained about, I will have lost any and all remaining hope I had in this comic and will resign from it...shoving its memory into a dusty filing cabinet that I never look in. If you are one of the MANY that doesn't give a shit about ANYTHING I just said...move along. I can obviously not get through to you and will not attempt an argument with your ignorance and prejudice.

If you want to see this comic THRIVE (like I do) then maybe...just MAYBE...some of you will listen to me.

One can only dream.
-Flantics out

posted by Flashlight Antics on March 19th, 2010, 2:46 pm



 

@ Antics:

God, if I could just get all my crap back together I could make my reviews again. I like the constructive approach, then again I avoid sprite comics because they aren't really my forte, and I don't feel I have the right to grade something I know for a fact that I myself SUCK TERRIBLY at XD
Anyways, I guess ima try to squish in a review this week.
Also, I've never seen the reviewers get mad at eachother for certain grades, unless the review is clearly very poorly done. For example, when someone gave grammar a 9/10, and the example pic of the comic that they show shows the worst spelling and sentence structure, most people are going to come in and say "What are you DOING?!?!" because there is a line between asspatting and reviewing.
The reviewers that say "this is pretty good, 9/10" verses the ones that say "This has potential, but it needs work. The reasons are this this and this, and it would be better is you this this and this" make a huge difference and show which reviewer actually cares about what they read.
The reviews themselves probably get stricter over time because when they reviewed one bad comic and thought it was probably the worst thing they've read, eventually they will find one even WORSE than that comic. It's a guarantee that for every comic out there there is a comic better or worse than it.

Also, don't you think it's unfair to lose hope if you see one more bad thing? I think you should be gaining some hope from seeing the things you want to see, and look out for it. If you see nothing but bad then I'd understand losing hope, though. Everywhere, there is bound to be something crappy or a bad egg.

anyways uh, I was just reminded how much I love wall of texting, but that's kinda what I'm thinking. :/

Oh and

@Badx
It's only drama if you look at it the wrong way

posted by BaldDumboRat on March 19th, 2010, 6:03 pm



 

@Badx: If I were wanting drama, I would have thrown actual names out there. But I want RESULTS. So I leave the bias at the door and hope someone actually hears my words for what they are...a cry for salvation in a land filled with nothing but heartless reviews.

@BalDumboRat: When I said that the other reviewers freak out whenever they see a review they don't like, I was doing just a LITTLE over exaggeration. Personally, when someone asks a panel of people to do a review, I believe that this panel should not submit they're opinion to one-an-other about the manor in which the review was done NOR the overall result of the review.

Of course, that is far from realistic and I really don't expect such things to happen. People are full of opinions and I personally can't expect anyone to withhold an opinion when I often can't do the same myself. But I still don't think that a review should be under any scrutiny by other reviewers. They had their chance to choose that comic...and they missed it.

Lastly, I've somewhat given up hope on more then just this comic. The community as a whole is starting to seem like a bunch of melodramatic prima donnas that seem to FREAK when the word "drama" is even MENTIONED at. I'm not going to go into that anymore because I feel that my strong distaste and powerful views on that subject would only harm egos and start unnecessary bickering within a community that is already broken and beaten to a bloody pulp as it is.

In short, I feel that people are starting to go out of their way just to flame the hell out of anyone and everyone who they feel deserves it. I'm starting to feel like this comic is just a way to justify that. I feel that unless my view on that is changed, I won't be able to associate myself with this comic anymore.

So yes...my last hope lies in the hands of the person who reviews next. Not that I'm expecting anyone to CARE if I'm gone. Quite the opposite, actually. I KNOW no one will miss me (I've done, what...two reviews? I'm not very cannon here...). My purpose to this comment is NOT to say "shape up or 'high-and-mighty-me' is shipping out!"...no, I'm afraid that my ego isn't QUITE that big yet. My purpose to this comment is to hopefully show a FEW people what one person's opinions on this comics degrading condition is. That is all.

-Flantics out

posted by Flashlight Antics on March 22nd, 2010, 3:14 am



  Just throwing it out there

oh wow .__.
Ehh... I might get flamed for this, but w/e.

Firstly, I don't think it's fair for the comic authours getting their stuff reviewed to 'attack' the reviewers; after all, you have obviously READ previous reviews so you know what it's like, and you can pretty much gather what your review will be like.
It's not like you asked in your sleep or something lmao @u@;

Secondly, Like 'Malakite' said, they aren't proffessionals, they aren't getting paid - I think we should just be grateful that people are actually taking their time out to, let's face it, tell us the truth XD;;

I wanted Malakite to review my comic because his reviews are funny and entertaining to read.
Yes yes yes, I hear you, "they only point out the bad things THEY SUCK MEHH D':<"
That's not necassarily a bad thing! Yeah, not really constructive critisism, but it's like... like...

Like, you're in the dark, trying to find a light, then a voice goes, "it's not over there, dipsh!t" so what do you do? You just go the other way :'D

No, they don't tell you where the light switch is, they don't get your hand and guide you, but you have to find it yourself and they've stopped you from going the 'wrong way' before hitting a dead end (so to speak)... which is really the main part ^^;
They tell you the bad things, oui oui. But you wouldn't have NOTICED the bad things unless they'd pointed it out.
Besides... It's only like 1 or 2 out of 10 reviews that don't really give constructive critisism, so... y'know, stop being selfish >u>;;

OH MAN, I'M RAMBLING AGAIN ;-;

fffu--
/cough
on another note, If Malakite HAS resigned ("So with that said, I'm officially announcing my exit from comic reviewing"?)
If anyone wouldn't mind still reviewing my comic (1,2,3,step!)? ;~; It's 500+ pages already, so I apologize in advance DX;;
(Maybe BaldDumboRat or metaishopeless ;0;; IF EITHER OF THEM CAN orz )

Even if you can't, thankyou for considering anyway!! @@;//

posted by WalkedAway on March 22nd, 2010, 11:52 am



 

I actually originally joined with the intent that Malakite had. Tearing apart really shitty comics in my own sarcastic way. The problem is, I don't feel I have much of a right to tear apart a genre I have no knowledge of (sprite comics) and a lot of the drawn comics aren't that half bad. I think I've taken the good reviewer bad reviewer approach, in that I'm very nice when I like something, and very mean when I don't. I've only done one shitty comic so far, but not many people noticed it. Especially when Malakite came in after me to do his version of tearing a comic a new one.

So, in my reviews I've been trying to be funny in a cute way, good comic or bad, so I could have my own uniqueness. I like the happy responses I get, but you have no idea how much I live for someone coming in and going "OMG UR RONG MY COMIC IS TEH BEST U SUC WAH WAH" because constructive review or not, those kind of people wont take their heads out of their asses, and they will get pissed off even if you were extremely nice in saying "You really need to work on this".
It's just like those deviantards who go on conceptart asking for asspats on their lens flare shiny animu art, and when one person gives a 5 paragraph critique explaining in full detail what they need to do to improve, the artist has a shit fit and calls everyone on concept art stuck up bastards who don't know how to appreciate art.

posted by BaldDumboRat on March 22nd, 2010, 1:24 pm



 

I would like to throw my $8.37 cause that's all I have left in my pocket.

@Flash - Listen, if the author(s) can't be bothered to really iron out details about the plot, setting, story, character and personalities in their own story, ask me why I should sit there and waste my time actually telling them how to fix it? Yea my reviews don't give constructive criticism according to most people, but that's because stupid idiots don't know how to read between the lines of my reviews at all. Malakite gives tons of constructive criticism, seems no one has read the part that says Malakite's Advice!! Or better yet, if Malakite is pointing out everything wrong with the comic, then isn't it obvious what NOT TO FUCKING DO in your comic!! Face it Flash, a LOT of sprite comics on smackjeeves are horrible and it seems most of these authors flock here to get a review expecting us to praise it, well sorry, please try again. We don't go out of our way to flame people, every reviewer here has their own style of reviewing, if you like, good, if not, too bad. We can't help what people ask us to review, and to be honest, not once have I ever looked at a comic and said "Oh my god, this comics is gonna be bad!!" I actually go into a review neutral, and if I come out negative or positive, trust me, you'll know why.

@Walked Away - I apologize that you were looking forward to my review, because of your kind asspat comments towards my reviews I will actually make 1,2,3 Step my final review. Bare in mind, because of time constraints and for how long this comic is, you might be waiting a while. I will only review up to comic 500 and that's about it.

posted by Malakite on March 22nd, 2010, 1:28 pm



  @WalkedAway

"Firstly, I don't think it's fair for the comic authours getting their stuff reviewed to 'attack' the reviewers; after all, you have obviously READ previous reviews so you know what it's like, and you can pretty much gather what your review will be like."

Yeah, that's just it, though. Several authors take no time whatsoever to analyze how reviews work here, so when they get a review that says their comic is complete crap, they go ape shit because they didn't expect such harshness.

posted by Ultimate Ridley on March 22nd, 2010, 1:56 pm



 

@Ridley:
Well, again, nice or not, a lot of the ones that scream in all caps will get pissed off and throw a shit fit even if someone said their comic was bad in the nicest way possible. Some people just can't accept being told they did something wrong, and some people refuse to improve on anything because they have such a high ego that they insist they don't need to.

posted by BaldDumboRat on March 22nd, 2010, 2:00 pm



 

I’m intrigued that no one actually acknowledged my comment on this community slowly but surely degrading. Interesting…

@WalkedAway: There is a fine line between ‘criticism’ that isn’t meant to be constructive and flaming. My point with my previous comments is that this line is slowly being erased. You can go ahead and try to justify flaming all you want. But I contest that when it comes to a review, professionalism should be a priority. I don’t care if we aren’t paid to do this…BE POLITE, GODS DAMNIT! One of the reasons this damn community is falling into the refuse pile is because people leave their manors at the door and tread through with muddy feet and spitting wherever they please.

@KungPaoChow: A bitch-slap wake-up call is FAR different then destroying any forms of an ego and then pissing on its shallow grave. I don’t believe that anyone has gone quite that far…but I’ve seen occasions where it came close. And frankly…it disgusts me.

@BaldDumboRat: On those troves of ignorant comic authors that refuse to pull their hands out of their ass, yes…they won’t change. But tell me, to what point does this justify playing their game? They are the fire and fighting a fire with flaming only makes the fire GROW. I also doubt that these ignorant folks would change their views even if you were as polite as you could possibly be. But I can almost GUARANTEE that they would not have nearly the shit-fit that they normally do if you slowly pick apart their little piece of trash with class and lots of big words. With enough finesse, you can make the worst scores seem almost like a godsend to them. But finesse is a term often lost to those not willing to tolerate ignorance.

@Malakite: Ah, now we reach the part of the rant I was looking forward to the most. I understand that you go into the review with a neutral outlook. That is refreshing to know. But bordering on flaming just because an author refuses to do the hard work needed to make a half decent comic is like getting pissed at a cop for ticketing you for speeding when you were going 41 mph in a 40 mph zone. Just because it isn’t fair doesn’t avoid the fact that it happened and you can’t do shit about it.

So yes…I do admit that SJ is chalk-a-block full of next to worthless comics and authors who feel that their comic is the greatest thing since sliced bread DESPITE lacking any form of plot, having the worst grammar this side of the Mississippi, and having mono-toned backgrounds that make your EYES BLEED! BUT…that does not give us, the reviewers, any right to tear them a new one just because they need a GREAT deal of ‘polishing’ (you can polish shit and make it look good but it’ll still be shit).

I just feel that even if the comics we are reviewing are scarce on talent and skimp on plot, that we still owe it to the community as a whole to be professional and polite to the point that we can still give these hopeless cases a small glint of optimism. Call me naive but I still feel that this community can be pulled from the trash pile. All it needs is a little more finesse with words and the ability to agree to disagree.

All that being said, I’m going to take the initiative. I’m calling “Christmas with Gata” and I intend to review it within the week. I’m going to try and put this discussion behind me and have a fresh outlook on the reviews. Hopefully, this’ll make it possible for me to see the positive hidden within the negative.

One can only hope.
-Flantics out

posted by Flashlight Antics on March 22nd, 2010, 3:35 pm



 

@Badx: By "this community" I mean SJ as a whole.

And if you really called Christmas with Gata already, then by all means, I'll choose something else. But please, do be so kind as to put your name next to it on the list.

And since I have no comic to review anymore, there's really no telling when I'll review again. I'll decide that later.

posted by Flashlight Antics on March 22nd, 2010, 4:04 pm



  @Flantics

Provided you've played through and beaten Fallout 3 and its many expansions, you could review Failout 3.

Just, y'know, throwing that out there. Just as a possibility.

*shot*

I'm not desperate!

posted by Ultimate Ridley on March 22nd, 2010, 5:42 pm



 

Oh shit.

Look, when you review so many crap comics back-to-back you're bound to lose patients trying to review and critique at the same time.

Originally I joined cause I had the time and I figured since a bunch of folks don't like me, I might as well go be a reviewer so they HAVE reason to hate me instead of just cause.

Now I no longer have the time. Classes are demanding and so is life and I lurk about in the shadows.

At the risk of getting attacked (but I'm a douche ANYWAY so...) but I'm finding the length of all of these remarks hilarious.

The people saying its a bad review and typing walls of text to protect shit no one cares about, the declaration of the comic dying, doom of sprite genre all of it is comedy GOLD!

Why spend so much time waring over this when you could be pooling your energies into something more...productive? Like improving the quality of your own work?

posted by Shadow The Unborn on March 22nd, 2010, 8:25 pm



 

Was reading the backlogs when I came across this. Never knew I got something named after me.

Sorry for creating Akumaids. I'm even trying to move away from that myself. It's just some characters make it hard to do.

posted by AkumaTh on May 26th, 2010, 1:03 pm



 

I stayed mostly out of this. No need to bring it back to light. Thank you. :3

posted by Yamataro on May 26th, 2010, 1:31 pm



 

Well... He did. :3
We Love you Akuma!

posted by Yamataro on May 26th, 2010, 3:11 pm



 

"Though I've gotta say, I didn't think Akuma would actually find this... "

I've noticed this review group for a while now. Decided to finally follow it recently.

posted by AkumaTh on May 26th, 2010, 7:39 pm



Post A Comment