Buttshot (Re-Review) - Zanoh


November 22nd, 2009, 1:44 pm



Average Rating: None

« First Page ‹ Previous Page Next Page › Latest Page »

Author Comments:

  Advertisement, October 17th, 2017, 4:44 am


Post A Comment

Reader Comments:

 

Add me to The Four Seasons, would you?

posted by BaldDumboRat on November 22nd, 2009, 1:47 pm



 

Got a request for you guys. Ultimate the Hedgehog's Sonic Author: Haunted House.

http://sonichaunted.smackjeeves.com/

posted by SF3P0X1 on November 22nd, 2009, 2:21 pm



 

Is this a re-review? Because I remember this comic was reviewed once before. If it's a re-review, it has to have at least 10 more pages since the last time it was reviewed. That was back in April though, so I'm sure there are more pages by now.

If you havn't seen the review: http://wereviewyoudontsue.smackjeeves.com/comics/666073/haunted-house-badx/

posted by BaldDumboRat on November 22nd, 2009, 2:29 pm



 

Aha, told you I knew it sucked!

Still, at least it did better than ARK. I got good news and bad news.

Good news is that Pogeymanz is most likely a lot better than my first two comic efforts combined.
Bad news is, Buttshot will always still be updated, at least for as long as my cousin is living with me. The comic was his idea, he just sucked at comicking himself (see: The Coconut Chronicles, look it up). See, he doesn't want to see his favorite portrayal of his crazy side (Coconut) to die in the name of a Pokemon sprite comic (he's a stereotypical Pokemon hater). So, he keeps commanding me to make more "Coconut" comics (Yeah, he doesn't even memorize the title I gave to the fucking comic). It's not that he has power over me; he is just an excellent persuader, carrying his persuasion methods out by being a persistent annoyance. What a douche.

But thanks for the review. I was shocked about ARK's score at first (really, I was, but I got over it), but I expected a score like this for Buttshot. So, in no way am I butthurt (not that I'd expect you to think I was).

I want Coconut to die as fucking much as you probably do, trust me.

posted by Ultimate Ridley on November 22nd, 2009, 2:30 pm



 

Hey, Yamataro, when you read this I think I have an idea for a rule when it comes to requesting reviews. If it's a multi-author comic, I think the person requesting needs to state that the other authors agreed on having a review. I know a couple of times a collab author comic was reviewed and a lot of people in the comic got upset because no one really asked if they were ok with a review.

posted by BaldDumboRat on November 22nd, 2009, 2:37 pm



  @UltimateRidley

I see. Well being one who is more or less inclined to say that if the man does not know how to make comics, my advice for him would be to start learning. It is better for the one in charge of the monstrosity to take the blow rather than the unwilling accomplice.

As for coconut, I know a way. *Uses the Void* NOW he can live eternally in eternal hell.

posted by Zanoh on November 22nd, 2009, 3:23 pm



 

@BDR: That sounds like a wonderous idea. I like it. I'll add it to the top soon.

posted by Yamataro on November 23rd, 2009, 2:11 pm



 

Yay, I R helpful :B

posted by BaldDumboRat on November 23rd, 2009, 2:22 pm



 

Getting bored of smackreviews and all its negative sprite comic reviews. Theres plenty of wonderful comics on smackjeeves, shame none of them will be discussed or reviewed here. Although it is definitely more unfair, I think as a reader I would find more entertaining, a website that chooses the comics to review. Even putting that aside, my favorite comic reviewer, Webcomicfinds,- who does requests instead of choosing, highlights interesting ideas and discussions about comic-making in her reviews, even when looking at a bad comic, rather then just doing a crit session on a comic.
Since this review site is getting pretty samey/boring, I feel my opinion on what a review should be has changed! I used to think its good to have one that basically tells people if a comic is good or bad, now I think if you want to be creative with reviews, its better to treat it as an article and bring up interesting points about the art form, as well as telling people what the comic is like, then it can be interesting to more then just the author of the comic thats being reviewed...

posted by Theorah on November 23rd, 2009, 3:52 pm



  @Theorah

I hope we are not like the comic reviewers you abhor. I would love to write an article but I do not have time for said article. I try to review on why I think a comic is good or bad, Sprite comics if done right are good in my book (See Halo Rescue Group 1 review), but most of the comics submitted are either works in progress or bad, you pray to see a good one. in fact some of us are even lucky these days to be blessed with their comic choice of high praise.

posted by Zanoh on November 23rd, 2009, 8:16 pm



 

Sorry, but I won't be able to make any new reviews until this week is over, seeing as how I'm going away for Thanksgiving. I'll try to finish one after vacation is over. c:

(Oh, and regarding Theorah's comment)
Last time I checked, these reviews were less about the entertainment, and more about telling the author of a webcomic what they can do to improve their work.
To me, if a comic review is not just helpful, but engaging as well, it's just another bonus.

posted by Mikk'em (Guest) on November 23rd, 2009, 10:29 pm



 

@Theorah

As a couple of people already mentioned, reviewing is less about the entertainment value and more about what is wrong or right with the comic and how the author is going about completing this task. I agree this site is getting pretty boring and it's probably due to the fact that a good 85% of people who ask us to review their comics bring nothing but overused, overdone, half-assed thrown together with some cheap cardboard and glue garbage comics which in turn leaves us to review garbage more and more often. As for your opinion of what a review should be, well that's just your opinion really. I don't think an article form that describes all these supposed interesting points and facts about the art form and what not is a good way to review anything. Why? Because a review is supposed to be straight to the point of what is good and bad and what needs to be fixed, end of story. I mean we could sit there and spend many hours trying to analyze how interesting a comic is but does anyone really give a shit at the end of the day? No, most people will just simply respond with tl;dr or wall of text and move on their merry way.

I on the other hand use the kind of style that I do because it not only explains how good or bad things are in a very blunt way that gets the point across but I also provide the basic idea of where the author fucked up badly or did well on.

I'm going to put this in perspective for you Theorah:

80% of smackjeeves is filled with garbage overdone comic genres whether drawn and or sprited. So the fact you see so many negative reviews shouldn't come across as surprising at all. If you look at the way this group is designed, it's done so in a way that we have the author's permission to review it rather than just pick and choose a random comic and either praise or shit on it without the author's consent. So if they want their comic reviewed, they bring it to us. It's a simple matter of respect. Like I said earlier, a lot of people who bring their comics to the table make really shitty ones and honestly should just stop making them period if you ask me.

We try out best to make our reviews entertaining and sometimes it just doesn't work, but at the end of the day, it's the review of how bad or good the comic is that what counts the most anyways.

EDIT: After reading this I figured there was more to bring up in points.

If you think reading these reviews is boring, how do you think we feel when we have to force ourselves to read the garbage comics that are 30-500 comics long? I think we're just as equally bored of having to review often cause just reviewing one long bad comic is enough to keep us away from this place for a good week or two. In my reviews yea I sometimes nitpick the author and how they do their work but sometimes you can easily tell when they half-assded things or didn't put a lot of thought into it at all. When they sit there and argue and try to complain that they did, I already know they're feeding me a line of BS cause as the saying goes "actions speak louder than words" so you can easily tell by the finished product how much time and effort was really put into it.

posted by Malakite on November 24th, 2009, 2:18 am



 

Theora, you might want to look at my reviews. I make a large effort to give a review on a more professional and informative standpoint, and I work with the type of comics I'm more familiar with: Hand drawn comics.
If I want to go into more detail about something, I put it in my comment if there is not enough room to thoroughly explain the problem and the solution.
Rather than thinking in the mindset of "is this a good comic", I go into the mindset of "Is this something that could be published in the professional comic world?"
The reason you see this pick and choose list, rather than us just doing whatever people ask, is because not everyone is knowledgeable in the same thing. some people are spriters and are better fit to review sprite comics, some people like horror and will more likely take horror comics, some like comedy, some are more informed about manga, and some about American style comics.
If I want a review, I want it from someone who knows about what they are reviewing.
If the artists asks questions after any of my reviews, I am more than willing to dish out quite a few paragraphs to help them along. I like to see people succeed. Just as much as I want to see myself succeed one day, I want to see someone I've helped actually make it somewhere.

I review to help. Not for entertainment or because everyone else is doing it.

Example of reviewer who just chooses comics and reviews them without permission: http://missnarcotic.wordpress.com/2009/02/23/facepalming-at-comics-for-fun/
Though, she's not really informative about improvements on the comics she reviews, she's completely rude and many people are angry about the fact that she reviews without asking.
There are plenty of comics out there that I WANT to review, but I respect artists, and there are those who appreciate not having critique. Some people, sadly, can't handle it. And as a respect to them, I wait for THEM to be ready for a review, I don;t force one on them out of nowhere. I've seen many great artists be completely crushed by people who just review and critique out of the blue, simply because they aren't used to it and aren't ready for it.
This applies ESPECIALLY to sprite comics, as many spriters are very young and have a huge ego about what they do. They can;t handle being told what's wrong, and only want praise rather than insight. For those spriters, I think I'd link them over to Comic Review Pals, since I have never seen one bad review from them. All I see is "wow its cool, 9" on even the most horrible of comics. If they come here for a review, that's fine, and every time they do, I hope that maybe they have improvement in mind, rather than a chance to be praised and in the spotlight.
So, there's truth, there's asspatting, and then there's truth with insight.

posted by BaldDumboRat on November 24th, 2009, 1:52 pm



 

Dare I butt in and say that writing a comic review- or any sort of good constructive criticism for that matter- is more like writing a news article than trying to produce a piece of comedic witty banter. I mean, some witty comments help, but it's the strict actual content of the critique (pointing out good and bad) that counts. If you want entertainment, there's comments for that. Reviews should be professional, and these guys are proqual, especially for this site. So, big kudos to you reviewers for keepin' proqual. *thumbs*

Uh. I ramble. Sorry. >>'

I have a special request for a comic. It's a progressional 'comic' of sorts. OKAY I'LL TELL IT LIKE IT IS. It's an art dump. The art progresses upwards in terms of (hopeful) improvement.

Can someone possibly review it in some sort of way? It's not a comic by far in the traditional sense, so I can definitely understand if it can't be reviewed.

http://pogeymanzartdump.smackjeeves.com

Got a good bit of art there so...yeah. >>';

posted by Crystal Hikara on November 24th, 2009, 10:36 pm



  Wow big lines of text from everyone...

Well anyways I will review it for you Crystal Hikaru

posted by Zanoh on November 24th, 2009, 10:57 pm



 

Zanoh, are you sure that's your forte? Her 'comic' isn't really a comic and can't be rated as such, it's more of a compilation of art. You'd need to be an art critic and have a good understanding of anatomy, perspective, and coloring skills, and know various sources to help advise the artist, along with your own knowledge and experience of art and drawing. :/

posted by BaldDumboRat on November 25th, 2009, 1:18 am



  True

Added it to the list, and rebuked my claim.

posted by Zanoh on November 25th, 2009, 1:18 pm



 

woah woah sorry guys, I wasnt insulting smackreviews as such, or saying you were bad, sorry if it came across as that!
I was just saying that my opinion of what a review should be has changed after reading this comic for a year, it is just an opinion and personal taste, no need to take it as an insult!
I know you guys put much thought into what you do and write, and it must be hard to read things you dont enjoy reading. I just now feel this is less of a comic/review site and more of a place where people can get personal comments and critisism sessions on their work.
I dont think Id pick up art or film magazines or newspapers like The Guardian if they just did what this review site does. You guys crit very well, but you dont treat it as a piece of writing that everyone can enjoy, and Im sure you're all aware of that! Originally I faved smackreviews cos I wanted interesting and highlighting reviews rather then crit sessions.
And its off topic but TBH I think it is important to discuss art form, and the reason we have so many bad comics on the web is because people dont think its important! Shallow views on art= shallow and bad comics. If you dont think, discuss or understand what you're doing its going to turn out really bad.

posted by Theorah on November 25th, 2009, 2:02 pm



 

I'd be more than willing to give a very in depth review if someone were to ask. I do tend to make walls of text on my spare time anyways. XD
It just makes it more reader friendly, I suppose, for a site based around comics. It would make sense to review comics in comic form, especially because people would be more likely to read it, rather than reading a long blog. It's sad, but a lot of people are too lazy to read long walls of text, even if it's regarding their own work.
For good comics, or ones I see with potential, I might write a more in depth review if I see where it needs work. The bad comics I'm a little more careful about, because I know a lot of them are made by younger kids who would more than likely respond to a wall of text like this: "lol wow u type a lot i only read a lil bit cuz it was too long n ur dumb for typing so much, i didnt read it"
Trust me, I've gotten this before. People disregarding the things I say simply because it's a lot of words, which is apparently too much for them to comprehend. I don't know, but it definitely bugs me.



@Crystal Hikara:
Since this is an art dump and not a comic, it would be very difficult to rate it as a whole. The only way I can think of doing it properly would be if I were to critique each individual piece.
I'm actually a pokemon artist outside of smackjeeves, and I make plush toys sometimes too, so I could give plenty of advice, if you'd like.
If you wouldn't mind me reviewing each picture on it's own, how would you like me to do it? I can type it up in photoshop and paste thumbnails of each picture and give critique, then post it here. OR I could just comment on each page in the comment section for the pics.
Your choice, if you'd like that or not.

posted by BaldDumboRat on November 25th, 2009, 2:14 pm



 

@Theorah
I dunno how everyone else feels but I don't really get where you're coming from at all. You're making a statement that doesn't apply here, we review the way we review, we're either lax on certain things or harsh as hell to impress. In all honesty, the majority of the people who come here for reviews are young teenagers who don't care about literary skills and reading long paragraphs analyzing their comic pixel by pixel. I'm going to take your quotes and explain why I'm stating what I am:

"Getting bored of smackreviews and all its negative sprite comic reviews. Theres plenty of wonderful comics on smackjeeves, shame none of them will be discussed or reviewed here. Although it is definitely more unfair, I think as a reader I would find more entertaining, a website that chooses the comics to review." - A lot of the comics on our lists to be reviewed end up being bad, we honestly can't help that. Yes there are good comics but they come few from afar. We can't choose comics to review because it's disrespectful to the person who made the comic that may not want our 2 cents shoved down their throat.

"my favorite comic reviewer, Webcomicfinds,- who does requests instead of choosing, highlights interesting ideas and discussions about comic-making in her reviews, even when looking at a bad comic, rather then just doing a crit session on a comic." - In all honesty, everyone has a different way to review things, if you like this persons reviews much more then dedicate more time to reading his/her reviews and maybe not read ours if they are bugging you that much, it's pretty simple.

"Since this review site is getting pretty samey/boring, I feel my opinion on what a review should be has changed! I used to think its good to have one that basically tells people if a comic is good or bad, now I think if you want to be creative with reviews, its better to treat it as an article and bring up interesting points about the art form, as well as telling people what the comic is like, then it can be interesting to more then just the author of the comic thats being reviewed... " - People's views change all the time and there isn't anything wrong with that, but we're not going to conform to your changed view just because you think we should. We review in the best way we feel is possible even if it is mostly negative. I don't know any person who makes any sort of review anywhere that turns it into a large analytical essay about each aspect of a comic, to make such a review would take too damn long and be like a practical short novel in terms of the amount of text. Basically put, young kids and teenagers don't care about large very precise reviews that are many many pages long.

"I just now feel this is less of a comic/review site and more of a place where people can get personal comments and critisism sessions on their work." - Do you ever think that's maybe what the authors come here for instead?

"I dont think Id pick up art or film magazines or newspapers like The Guardian if they just did what this review site does. You guys crit very well, but you dont treat it as a piece of writing that everyone can enjoy, and Im sure you're all aware of that! Originally I faved smackreviews cos I wanted interesting and highlighting reviews rather then crit sessions." - Well to begin with we aren't an established newspaper or magazine so the quality of what we do and say doesn't have to be nearly anywhere on that level to begin with, most of us have been doing this for fun more than anything, but it's become more of a chore with the kind of stuff we get asked to review more often than not. If our reviews are too much for you then I guess you don't need to watch us really.

"And its off topic but TBH I think it is important to discuss art form, and the reason we have so many bad comics on the web is because people dont think its important! Shallow views on art= shallow and bad comics. If you dont think, discuss or understand what you're doing its going to turn out really bad." - The thing is, we do tell people they need to improve, and we say it often. It's a matter of whether the author accepts that as advice or an insult and decides whether or not they will do it. I don't really think you understand the way people are on the internet like I do. I'm not insulting you by saying "I know more than you", it's just that as I've stated a while ago, I started making comics in early 2000 and i've been pretty pro-active on the internet since then. I see how people act and what they say to certain things. You're looking for a more mature review that's aimed at adults who have a brain in their head and know how to take the right kind of criticism and the expanded point of view of it. We think and discuss what the authors need to do but we find that more often then not, they are too dumb or stubborn to understand.

When it all comes down to it Theorah, we are all doing this as a hobby more than as a serious business, and If you look at some of the comics we end up reviewing, you can tell we take our reviews and opinions about as serious as they do with their comics. It sounds like your idol comic reviewer is reviewing comics that people actually give more of a crap about than what we get around here. Trust me, no reviewer here is going to spend ridiculous amounts of time to analyze a comic well for an author who more than likely could careless about their work in the long run. I mean, most of us have a life outside this computer and we generally like to spend more time in that place than sitting at a computer writing a university level essay on why a 10 year olds comic is good or bad. does that make any sense to you?

posted by Malakite on November 26th, 2009, 1:20 am



 

Dramallama on the review onoes!

BDR: Hey, whatever you'd like to do. I loooooove comments on stuff, so that'd be best. (Keep in mind some junk's really old, from nearly 3 years ago lol ;D)

And then if you wanna do one big ol 'overall' review of a general 'feel' of the artwork in your opinion you could and I'd really appreciate it? Like, two strong pics and then two weaker pics for the review? Something like that? I hope this makes sense? /fail You'd be the one reviewing, so whatever you like. I just want a teense bit of shameless plugging that comes with getting a review done here to make people go 'hey, wait, is it really that bad?' or 'is it really that good?' etc.

OKAY MAYBE I WANT THAT MORE THAN JUST A TEENSE. >> <<

posted by Crystal Hikara on November 26th, 2009, 8:09 pm



 

lol, alright, I'll be looking at your stuff then. Probably on Sunday, since I'm starting work tomorrow.

posted by BaldDumboRat on November 26th, 2009, 11:53 pm



Post A Comment