BaldDumboRat Reviews- Vampire Fetish


November 21st, 2009, 1:13 pm



Average Rating: 3.00

« First Page ‹ Previous Page Next Page › Latest Page »

Author Comments:

  Advertisement, October 17th, 2017, 4:46 am


Post A Comment

Reader Comments:

 

Oooo. You lay out your reviews very professionally, and you selected some fun illustrations from the comic to include. Wow, though...Jude looks like a psycho until that last "naptime" pic.

posted by Tess on November 21st, 2009, 2:50 pm



 

Hehe, thank you ^^

posted by BaldDumboRat on November 21st, 2009, 3:05 pm



 

To me I think this comic deserves a little more then a C. =) But I'm not the reviewer. You did a great job reviewing it! I just think it deserves a little more then a C. ;D

posted by madbrook95 on November 21st, 2009, 4:05 pm



 

Haha, don't worry, C is actually not bad. It's a 7/10, which is in the average range (actually slightly more than average) ^^

posted by BaldDumboRat on November 21st, 2009, 6:23 pm



 

Yes, yes! Study to beat the uuultimate test! ( > w>)9"
Fleshing out the characters in the first few chapters is definitely a good way to go, just be sure to keep everything interesting while it's happening. ^^
Heck, my old vampire manga is in chapter 8 and still hasn't quite hit the main plotline. Maybe that's a bad thing, though. ._.;

posted by BaldDumboRat on November 21st, 2009, 6:32 pm



 

Haha, as long as it's good! XD Which, random question but which comic is your vampire character in, DBR?

And dude! I did this project and I was ONE POINT OFF from a B! 79, that just failed. XD

posted by madbrook95 on November 21st, 2009, 7:58 pm



 

Ah, my vamp is in my comic "Gladimus" :3 I warn you though, the first half is an eyesore cuz it's so bloody OLD DX

posted by BaldDumboRat on November 21st, 2009, 8:06 pm



 

Wow, Vampire Fetish got a review. It surprised me the comic got a C, but if the rate makes the comic improve that'll better for the fans.

posted by u_queen on November 21st, 2009, 8:40 pm



 

You're welcome. I'm scoping out some review-houses trying to figure out what kind of format would be nice to use for my own reviews. Your system seems pretty stable, and I like the nice neat squares.

The only counter-intuitive bit of the review is "I've never seen a vampire slayer story quite like this..." and then giving it a 7/10 on account that there's not enough yet. Just judge what's there right now...

But the rest I agree with for the most part. A nicely developing story. I would still score it higher than Shooz and Friends which got a similar score. Ah, well. I guess I can save my own thoughts for my own projects, ne?

posted by Tess on November 22nd, 2009, 1:43 am



 

Awh, I thought the comic was pretty nice! I favorited it. =) You have a wonderful art style! And my eyes are wonderful- expect I got shampoo in them. D=

posted by madbrook95 on November 22nd, 2009, 9:21 am



 

@ Tess:
I guess I should have mentioned more about why I gave it a 7 in originality for now. I also gave it that score because so far it's got a basic storyline. At a quick glance you see that there's a guy with nice charms who kills vampires, which doesn't sound all that fantastic yet. It's not a typical vampire story, but it still feels somewhat like another slayer story. You can tell that it has something planned for it in the future of the pages, but at the moment those things havn't been revealed. Until those things have shown themselves, I can't quite tell how original the full blown plot will be.
7 is a pretty good score for a comic that's just started, it means that there is a definite plotline and a reason to have interest in the story. A 5 would have been if the story was just flat, not really original, but there are still elements of the artist's own interpretations of the story.
For fancomics, this score is very sensitive, because you have to approach originality in a different light. You have to discard that it's a fancomic, and compare the plotline to the original source and if other people have used a similar idea already. And if they did, how common it is or isn't. For example, if someone takes the characters from something and makes a whole new plot and story revolving around them that no one's really done before, then originality would get a higher score.

A 1 in originality would be if the story pretty much follows the same plot and cliches of whatever genre it is. An example would be a BL story that follows a lot of the same ideas of, say, Gravitation, with similar plot twists and the basic same idea and similar characters.

A 0 in originality would be if someone just ripped off a story from another person and never put any thought into the story at all. Someone here on SJ did that at one time, they drew their own art, but they took a story from a lesser known anime and used the exact same plotline. All they did was change the character names and altered the appearance of the characters SLIGHTLY. They thought that because it wasn;t well known, no one would know the difference. But of course, there will always be someone out there who will recognize something. The artist was called out for this. She deleted everything and left the site after that.

Anyways, my original point, now that I've once again pulled off a wall of text AGAIN, is that 7 is a good score, it's a little above average.

0-2: Aweful
3-4: Poor
5-6: Average
7: Above average
8: Good
9: Great
10: Fantastic, above and beyond


It's hard for me to give a 10 to people because I keep in mind that nothing is really perfect. For a 10, it would need to be something that really breaks the mold of the norm, but keeps you strapped in and wanting more.
It's not an easy score to get, but it can be done with a lot of hard work.

@ Madbrook: Thank you very much ^^; I hope when it's fully posted, people will be interested in more. I wish I could re-do it, but I wont simply because I don't really want to do it a third time over when I've finally reached a professional enough level. Especially when I have like, 6 other comics. .___.;

posted by BaldDumboRat on November 22nd, 2009, 1:39 pm



  not logged in

Ah, well thank you for explaining your reasons and grading system. I see you are a very organized and highly sensitive reviewer. I can see why she picked you to give her advice as you seem to take your job very seriously, and yes, these are all compliments.

posted by Tess (Guest) on November 22nd, 2009, 1:58 pm



 

O_O Really? Oh man, I dunno, I love all my characters T wT;; I don't get fanart often
Though, I think it would be funny if you did something of my vampire Gladimus, for irony's sake XD
You can pretty much tell how he is in my comic, and I guess this is the best I have for a more up-to-date look for him: http://www.smackjeeves.com/images/pb/5/5nbjDBiXXIrYEHEDzM6jGP.jpg

o 3o I'm really glad my review was helpful for you, I'd be happy to review again once you get more done ^^ I want to see how much better it gets!

posted by BaldDumboRat on November 23rd, 2009, 2:16 am



 

You're welcome, and I was interested from the start! Actually from the moment you put him in the review. You're art style truely has a wonderful charm, it's not cruddy like some people on here (including myself) and even though the boxes weren't straight and it was in pencil it had a wonderful storyline so far and wonderful characters. And I love the name Gladimus and the way he looks. He truely was one of the reasons why I wanted to take a peek at the comic. Actually if you think about it, it's very rare that I favorite just anybody's comic. It has to have a great art style and want me coming back for more. And that's what your comic does actually. I actually sit down and think about what a great comic it is in my spare time. (I do that for a lot of comics, actually and then I re-read them. )

Which I hope that once you do get to your most amazing art style level (can't find the right words!) that you publish it and make it a manga or something. I usually don't buy those, but heck! For Gladimus I would!
Keep with the great work. =)

posted by madbrook95 on November 24th, 2009, 9:15 pm



Post A Comment