Doomsday REreviews: Pennhurst


October 4th, 2009, 10:21 pm



Average Rating: None

livural is hot

« First Page ‹ Previous Page Next Page › Latest Page »

Author Comments:

  Advertisement, December 15th, 2017, 3:46 pm


Post A Comment

Reader Comments:

 

Lol I got one point lower xD

I agree that the ending was rushed.

AND I SEE WHAT YOU DID THAR IN THE CORNAR.

posted by Chabo on October 4th, 2009, 10:29 pm



 

Huh, this review does look the same as the last one now that you mention it....

Anyway, when you get the list up Dooms, I'd like you to place my name up to review the comic "1000" and, until detailed measures are established and registered, place TWOS on the list please.

http://www.smackjeeves.com/comicprofile.php?id=34196

posted by Cresent Night on October 4th, 2009, 10:33 pm



 

I ALWAYS FORGET THE LIST

is done



@Crescent: there wasn't that much to add
@Chabo: YOU SAW NOTHING



I'm not changing anything :/

posted by Doomsday on October 4th, 2009, 10:37 pm



 

Nice review, Dooms. I loved this comic as well.

posted by BreakerLOLZ on October 5th, 2009, 8:23 am



 

I enjoyed Penhurst muchly, especailly the characters, they were really fun! And the story is so bizzare! :D I have to disagree with the 'presentation' though. The comic is definitely drawn well, and the pacing is clear most of the time, but I dont think it's presented as well as it could be. I found the paneling especially to be a bit messy /unorganized. Just my opinion though, Im sure most people dont take notice of that kind of thing, especially if theyre just drawing a comic for fun!

posted by Theorah on October 5th, 2009, 12:20 pm



 

Pennhurst was done traditionally and I put 4-6 hours of effort into every page. I hope it shows. :>

It's why most sprite comics piss me off. They have 100 fans for something that took them 5 minutes.

posted by Chabo on October 5th, 2009, 7:00 pm



 

Good sprite comics take a few hours to make, believe it or not.

posted by Doomsday on October 5th, 2009, 7:01 pm



 

@Chabo: Yeah, and the sprite comics that take a few hours to make and/or may be significantly better quality than the mainstream often get very few fans in comparison to crap like Mario vs. Sonic vs. Megaman. (It's that kind of overrated publicity that pisses me off)

posted by Ultimate Ridley on October 5th, 2009, 8:18 pm



  @ Chabo

Hee hee, don't worry about spriters! They can spend hours and hours making great comics and have hundreds of fans, but if they don't own the sprites or hand make all of their own stuff,what does it amount to?

How many sprite comics do we see in print? None? Hmm.

http://www.alexnormalday.com/comics/665872/chili-con-carny/

posted by mandu on October 5th, 2009, 8:32 pm



 

Hmm, the most it took me to make a sprite comic was about 5 hours to 7 hours (not all at once sometimes), most of it to place the graphics and redo them if I don't like how they turn out, others to change a panel that looks off.

posted by Cresent Night on October 5th, 2009, 10:46 pm



 

The good sprite comics are like an art, takes a lot of work to do and a lot of detail work. But like a lot people said, the ones that get the most attention suck, and the ones who are really good at it eventually just go into hand drawing because they can't make any money out of a sprite comic.

posted by robybang on October 5th, 2009, 11:37 pm



 

I'd LOVE to do a hand drawn comic. I have THOUSANDS of ideas for manga style comics and even a few that would be great for comedic value.

UNFORTUNATELY, not all of us have been blessed with the innate ability to shell out two pages a week of high quality hand-drawn comics. Oh, not to mention that not all of us have the patience to sit down and learn how (much less having the time to DRAW them to begin with). I mean, I'm a firm believer in the saying "you can do anything you put your mind to" but not all of us have the resolve or time to sit down and better our drawing skills.

Of course, when I say "we/all of us" I of course mean "Me/I". I sprite because it takes less time and effort to learn and become adept at. ANYONE can sit down and make a sprite comic...not everyone can do that WELL with CONSISTENCY.

Oh, and on the note of a sprite comic never being published...WHO THE FUCK CARES? How many people have gone out and bought a Penny Arcade book or a Looking For Group book? Those that do obviously don't have time to sit down, boot up their computer, type the URL and click the "next" button. Actually publishing a comic these days means NOTHING except getting paid for doing something you enjoy.

...if you hand draw a comic, kudos...you are a better man then I. But for the love of GOD...DON'T BASH SPRITE COMICS IN GENERAL. That's called profiling...

posted by Flashlight Antics on October 6th, 2009, 2:59 am



 

But you said it yourself, if you really want to do it, you will do it, right? It's not like for the ones that hand draw their comic, it's some sort of inborn skill. It's through learning, and a great deal of work. Time is the same for everybody. It's your choice how to use it. In the end, it all comes to resolve, just like you said.

Now, I don't think that just by being hand drawn means a comic is great. It can be as poorly done as any. Making a GOOD comic will take a lot of time and effort, REGARDLESS of it's style. And that is, I believe, true for everything one does.

By the way, a similar discussion took place not very long ago, on this very site. It seems like it's a popular topic XD

posted by nejibana on October 6th, 2009, 5:12 am



  As a spriter and an Artist

Both are equally as tough to do people, especially if you want quality.

Usually I like my drawn comics more than my sprite, but hey don't pick and choose. Every comic could surprise you.

posted by Tailsgod on October 6th, 2009, 5:50 am



 

Hey hey hey! No Spriters vs drawn war now. We take our pride in what we do. No need to smash someone elses pride. :/
Expect a review for AOT and LolWaffles by the end of this week.

posted by Yamataro on October 6th, 2009, 8:59 am



 

Flashlight Antics: Penny Arcade and other webcomics make money via advertising on the website and merchandising. Also, without going too much into the sprites vs. drawn debate, you could make a successful pixel art comic if all the art was original (MS Paint Adventures or Diesel Sweeties, for example).

posted by robybang on October 6th, 2009, 11:15 am



  This was my fault.

I'm sorry, I did not mean for it to sound like bashing spriters,I enjoy good sprite comics, I was just trying to cheer up Chabo. I will stop posting. Again, I am sorry.

posted by mandu on October 6th, 2009, 12:30 pm



 

Mandu, read the Pm I sent you. You're not banned from posting. :/

posted by Yamataro on October 6th, 2009, 1:08 pm



  Time to cheer everyone up

NINJA BUTT SEX!

posted by Zanoh on October 6th, 2009, 4:46 pm



 

It makes my friends cheer up and laugh 0.0?

posted by Zanoh on October 6th, 2009, 5:22 pm



 

I havent reviewed in a while... I will take Animal War ^.^ *is going to read and review and stay in staff*

posted by pooppoop on October 6th, 2009, 6:20 pm



 

I'm gonna try and get in another review in the next week or so... calling Bishoujo Senshi Sailor Earth.

posted by metaishopeless on October 6th, 2009, 9:17 pm



 

Interestingly enough, as soon as I wrap up LOL Waffles, I'm going into drawn comics. :/

posted by BreakerLOLZ on October 6th, 2009, 9:44 pm



 

interestingly enough, after a while, i started to have a desire to draw my comic again, but when i realized that someone was going to review it and was assigned to it...

i got the incentive i needed to do it XP

posted by pooppoop on October 6th, 2009, 10:29 pm



 

@Breaker: I'm actually doing some drawn on the side, but it's all on Facebook right now. I'm probably going to do one more story for my iRobot comic and then do drawn comics.

posted by robybang on October 6th, 2009, 10:42 pm



 

gasp, its roby bang, the person it says is going to do my comics... be sure to read the newest updates when u do mine XP ;D

posted by pooppoop on October 6th, 2009, 10:51 pm



  @ roybang

hey! I'm on facebook! Hit me up.

Steven Carl Baughman

posted by mandu on October 6th, 2009, 10:57 pm



  @ Flashlight Antics

You remind me of what I live by; the great Roger Miller sang,'It takes all kinds to make a world.' This is my favorite song in the whole world. please, everyone give it a listen!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2zrhiW-A4Js

Furthermore, 8-bit Theater was my inspiration to put comics on the net. It was the first webcomic I ever saw. I read 8-bit Theater when it was much much smaller in it's earlier days and I cried with laughter at the humor Brian Clevenger layed down in his comics. XD

posted by mandu on October 7th, 2009, 12:03 am



 

The first webcomic I ever read was 8 Easy Bits... good times...

posted by metaishopeless on October 7th, 2009, 1:06 am



 

I have actually done about two pages of a drawn comic in my school diary of two years prior. It was originally to be a sprite comic, then I drew it for a bit, then I wrote it out for a bit, and then I abandoned it.

I find the only things I can draw a little decently are (oddly enough) dragons and anthros.

But I guess most people have problems drawing people, so...

posted by Doomsday on October 7th, 2009, 7:01 am



 

HEY GUYTHS!!!! YOU ARETH FORGETHING THAT SPRITETHS AND HAND DRAWN COMICTHS ARE FAR INSUPERIOR TO VIDEO GAMES!!!!1111one one one two!2221!!!!

couldnt help it... People... aren't we supposed to be UNbiased? a comic is a comic, it is our job to read and review it, not discuss whether it is better or not. Even if i like hand drawn more than sprite, ive done sprites back in the day and my hand drawn one doesnt have the best art (though it has its moments XP) and has 3 fans for alll 50 pages of it XP <--- T_T

it doesnt matter, i still read and review both types of comics. How about you stop judging it on type of comic (Sprite or Hand Drawn) and start judging it on the Writing?

[/rant]

posted by pooppoop on October 7th, 2009, 7:54 am



  @badx

@Badx

ahh Im sorry, I already requested a specific reviewer to do my comic (London Underworld!), they might even be writing a review right now... I dont think one comic can have two reviews, right? :( haha if you had posted that comment just a few days before, I wouldnt of gone and already asked someone to do it! I'm sorry, you'll have to choose a better comic to review ;)

posted by Theorah on October 7th, 2009, 4:45 pm



  @badx

of course! I hope you enjoy it :)

posted by Theorah on October 8th, 2009, 1:11 pm



 

*cracks knuckles* Well now that I'm back from my 5 day family vacation from hell I just had allow me to stick my two cents in.

For those who were trying to argue about sprite comics and drawn comics, there are too many factors involved to determine which is better. In reality drawn comics can bring the actions, emotions and feelings alive much more than a sprite comic can. With the being said though, some sprite authors have gone above and beyond what most authors do and create a large array of sprites that can convey similar emotions and feelings, it still can't really come close to a drawn comic, but how many people can draw professionally or decently anyways?

There's always gonna be an endless debate but both types of comics can be shitty if the author is a complete dumbass and we all know that smackjeeves has a VERY large number of them so yea.

posted by Malakite on October 8th, 2009, 3:05 pm



 

Man, I LOVE 8-bit-theater... X3

Anyways I'll comment as well, because I can.
No matter what people say about drawn vs sprite... There is one thing that is universal. Both may contain douchebags who have no desire to improve and have an ego larger than Mt. Everest but a brain smaller than a peanut.
And both piss me off to no end.
Though spriters stand more prominent as douchebags on this site (not all, but a large majority I have seen so far) I know for a fact that a lot of hand drawn artists can be about the same. They can draw crap, and when someone says something they don't like they have a conniption fit.
Spriters are only noticed more in this catigory BECAUSE spriting can be very easy and lazy, so a lot of kids out there jump on the bandwagon thinking they can be the next best spriter ever. Little do they realize that fad kind of died a long time ago, along with the overall work and talent more people USED to put in to sprite comics. Now it's just a bunch of lazy, dimwitted kids who don't know a comic from a calendar.
And no matter what, despite how many people may be good at drawing or spriting, SOMEONE is going to be a douche and make it all look bad. Yaoi and Sprite comics lately are in the same boat. A lot of them suck, they are running rampant on the site, and people who actually try to do a good job rather than just jumping on are often getting trampled over by these bad comics.

So let us put aside our differences of opinion in the matter, and do what we all do best. Either bring to light a wonderful comic, or.... TEAR THESE SHIT COMICS A NEW ONE!


*bow*

posted by BaldDumboRat on October 8th, 2009, 3:20 pm



 

I'VE CREATED A MONSTERRRR

posted by Chabo on October 9th, 2009, 9:54 am



 

@Chabo

Oooo, can I keep it? I have a big closet to keep it in :D

posted by BaldDumboRat on October 9th, 2009, 12:05 pm



 

*crickets chirping*

posted by Ultimate Ridley on October 10th, 2009, 12:19 pm



Post A Comment