BaldDumboRat Reviews- The Little Merboy


September 28th, 2009, 4:27 pm



Average Rating: None

« First Page ‹ Previous Page Next Page › Latest Page »

Author Comments:

  Advertisement, October 23rd, 2017, 10:13 am


Post A Comment

Reader Comments:

 

Really? The american grading system has an F at up to 59%? That's a C- where I'm from. 0-49% is a Fail.

posted by Sol on September 28th, 2009, 5:10 pm



 

the grading system is usually different all across america(i move a lot so i knwo this is true) like my school now has a REALLY tough grading system. it jsut changed to the ten point system which is a relief, and they actually added minuses

posted by u_fido_u on September 28th, 2009, 5:19 pm



 

Yeah I might come up with my own grading system, because when I saw it come up as 'F' I was scratching my head a bit, since I didn't think the comic was very bad or anything. :/

Next time I'll update my grades to my own liking, cuz that system is making little sense to me XD Below 50 should be an F, cuz I really would give this a more average grade, like D >_<;

Though in my picky art school I went to, 62 was a D, any lower... F F F F F o_o;

posted by BaldDumboRat on September 28th, 2009, 5:26 pm



 

Well, I'm glad to know you didn't hate it... I was a little disheartened by the score, but I hope to change your mind as it progresses. I know right now it's just rolling along pretty quick, but I've got everything planned out, and it's not just gonna be like this through the whole thing. The characters will be explored once everything starts happening, and I'll explain more about the Sea Witch than her just showing up. She's got plans, but I'm not going to reveal them yet. As for coloring, I'm still kind of a newb, and I don't actually use layers because I've never been good at them. However, the most recent pages do have those white spots because I've been cranking them out as fast as I can since I'm back at school and I'll probably go back and refine them later.

Thank you so much for taking the time to take a look at it. I'm sorry it wasn't to your liking.

posted by Yahikochan on September 28th, 2009, 5:31 pm



 

I'm glad you're willing to improve, that's always the first sign of a good artist ^-^ Do come back for another review once you think this comic has lifted off it's feet, I'd be happy to do a re-review of it!
Layers are hard to get used to, I know that first hand >_<;; But once you figure them out it's well worth it. Just get a big brush size and slap in the color for skin on one layer, hair on another, etc, and go in and erase any blobs of color that went outside the lines. It takes a while but the end result looks polished and none of the original lines get damaged so it'll look crisp.

posted by BaldDumboRat on September 28th, 2009, 5:55 pm



 

I can't remember all of the points towards grades that we had in my high school... but I know 87% was an A. And we had C-, C's and C+'s. It wasn't a 10 point system. In College, we had + and -'s for every letter, except F, and 49% was still the highest for F and maybe D before it went to a D. We didn't have D's in High School.

posted by Sol on September 28th, 2009, 6:04 pm



 

Over here, in the public school system, 69% or lower is an F, 70-79% is a C, 80-89% is a B, and 90%+ is an A. We don't have D's.

posted by BreakerLOLZ on September 28th, 2009, 9:23 pm



 

nice review, quite in depth and helpful to the artist, but also insightful for people looking out for new comics =3
I like that you show various panels from the comic, I havnt seen that much on here before!

posted by Theorah on September 29th, 2009, 12:21 pm



 

Theorah- Thank you! I not only want to review, but give legitimate advice!

posted by BaldDumboRat on October 4th, 2009, 3:10 pm



Post A Comment