Spriter's Apartments - Zanoh and Malakite


September 26th, 2009, 5:00 am



Average Rating: 5.00

« First Page ‹ Previous Page Next Page › Latest Page »

Author Comments:

  Advertisement, October 21st, 2017, 12:30 pm


Post A Comment

Reader Comments:

 

I think I shit bricks from how epic this was. O__O

posted by BaldDumboRat on September 26th, 2009, 12:00 am



 

I just laughed so fucking hard.. lol..

posted by AnXjak on September 26th, 2009, 6:21 am



 

Bricks were shat.

posted by Chabo on September 26th, 2009, 10:05 am



 

I think I just came... again...
o-o
That was BRUTAL.

posted by Yamataro on September 26th, 2009, 10:15 am



 

0.0

I am with BDR on this one. Holy shit, this was... I can't even use words to describe how awesome it was...

WAY better than what I could have done to deliver my thoughts on this comic. I tried to read through it, but barely got past the twentieth comic before I was fed up with the crappy plot, the... uncreative characters (aside from the boar), the attempted(?) but constantly failed humor (I never found a laugh in any part in this comic, not even a cheap laugh), the overused concept (ANOTHER apartment author comic? This is like, what, the sextillionth? Now you see why I despise author comics aside from Saturday Night Mudkipz; they're all the damn same), and most annoying to look at of all, the butchered English, FROM ALL TWENTY SEVEN AUTHORS.

I'm not one known to offend people, but I absolutely hated this comic almost on the level that Malakite hated it.

posted by Ultimate Ridley on September 26th, 2009, 10:40 am



 

This comic=FTW

You two should do more reviews together.

posted by Eternal Cry on September 26th, 2009, 10:42 am



 

I find it amazing that your score system doesn't fit ANYTHING that my comic stands for,(not joking)

!.Plot,I'm sure you should know this by now but...THERE IS NO PLOT IT'S ALL FOR FUN!!!!(not angry)

2.Spelling and Grammar,this comic is filled with newbs,what do you expect. (and I know I'm probably going to get bagged on about #2)

3.Presentation...Yeah I won't fight you on that one at all...

4.Characters&Originality,WE ARE COVERED IN NEWBS!!!!AND THIS IS A VERY MUCH USED THING I KNOW BUT I THOGHT IT WOULD BE FUN TO MAKE ONE!!!!(not angry though)

Now,I'm sorry for wasting your time Zanoh and Malakite,I won't ask you guys for another author comic that I'm in to be reviewed.However once I get my manga out(it's a sonic manga WITH a plot)I'll ask someone here to review it,here's a link if anyone wants to see the little updates I have there(not pages but little things on how I'm progressing and what not,and some people actually like me doing this) Edit:and yes it is drawn(but there are no pages yet,read what I have up there for more info)

http://www.smackjeeves.com/comicprofile.php?id=35390

posted by Riku96 on September 26th, 2009, 10:53 am



  @ Riku96

If you knew how horrible and newb infested your comic was, WHY DID YOU ASK MALKITE AND ZANOH OF ALL PEOPLE TO REVIEW IT?

You're the two towers, Malakite and Zanoh are the unforgiving planes. Merry Christmas.

posted by Chabo on September 26th, 2009, 10:58 am



 

However, Riku96 brings up a good point. There are many comics that don't present a plot, like the random gag comics, and a 'Plot' section would be invalid towards these comics. Perhaps you can provide an alternate system for these kind of comics.

That said, Zanoh and Malakite are win for saying what needs to be said.

posted by BreakerLOLZ on September 26th, 2009, 11:14 am



  @Breakers and Chabo

@Breakers
Thanks for helping me out and also nice article on wave,and you bring up a great point,they should have a new system for these.

@Chabo
Dude,I didn't even know who Malakite and Zanoh were before this,nor did I know who to ask to do my review,I haven't read any of the past comic.

posted by Riku96 on September 26th, 2009, 11:25 am



 

@BreakerLOLZ
You are correct sir, there are comics that have no plot, but this comic doesn't have a running gag or randomness constantly to make up for it, there's just simply nothing there at all. However, I still use the same categories for marking but I mark them differently. For example instead of marking plot for an actual plot i mark it based on what it was supposed to run on like lets say constant jokes or randomness, then I mark accordingly. either way regardless of what categories we used, it was still terrible.

@Riku96
I know this might sound a tad harsh, but not doing some research into who the reviewers around here are was a bit of a mistake, see Zanoh is generally gonna give his honest opinion but he will be nicer and more politically correct about it, I on the other hand, will tear people a new asshole and I won't sugar coat my opinion at all. Originally Zanoh was going to do this solo, but when I saw how you wanted your review done before his usual update I wanted to see myself why you needed this review to fast, well, after struggling to read to comic 20, I had enough and there was no way that I could contain my rage against it. Sorry man, but this was something that had to happen whether you want to agree with it or not. Mal's opinion and rage attached to it has no known boundaries.

posted by Malakite on September 26th, 2009, 12:10 pm



 

Speaking of reviews, I've decided to get off my ass and review Katt's eyes (reading & writing as we speak)...your team up has inspired me.

posted by Shadow The Unborn on September 26th, 2009, 12:44 pm



 

LOL this was hilarious!! The two most honest reviewers get together to put some bad comic artists in their place! XD
Admittedly, I do some times wonder when I read reviews like this why exactly these artists ask for reviews if they are obviously only doing a comic for fun and are not ready to take crit seriously. I mean its lovely to do a comic for the pure fun of it, I'd prefer creating something for fun over anything else, but if you are not looking to improve or dont care much for that kind of thing, then I dont understand why you would ask for a review where a comic is going to be looked at in a fairly serious manner...
Even before I read the review I thought it was interesting to have a collab review, it would be fun to see this more often, with more positive reviews as well.

posted by Theorah on September 26th, 2009, 1:01 pm



 

@Riku96:
"I find it amazing that your score system doesn't fit ANYTHING that my comic stands for,(not joking)"

There's really nothing to rate on, except characters, MAYBE humor, presentation, grammar, originality/concept (so far you said it doesn't fit anything, I found 4 categories not including plot)characters too, since people have them slapped around left to right in this thing.
And uh... Yeah what else is there? Um, Teamwork level? Readability? Entertainment value? I dunno.

Teamwork: value to get anything done, I don't see any long discussions between the 27 people there. I only see maybe 3-5 people posting per page with hardly any feedback or planning on their parts. As a leader of a group, you must take a stronger responsibility to make sure the group becomes productive, or else you're just letting loose a pack of rabid idiots on a project who know nothing about proper guidelines and ways to present themselves better.

Readability: Firstly, it looks like no one knows how to spell in this place. It makes it highly undesirable to look at, and if my mom (a freelance editor) got a hold of just the first page, she would have shook her head and said "How is it even possible for someone to get the English language THIS wrong" and would discard it immediately.
Also, there isn't much to read, except for what Malakite already pointed out. It's the same basic concept over and over again. No interaction, no change, strange attempts at humor that come across so poorly that it looks like the people cracking the jokes are just trying really hard to force something, as if the comic's blandness is forcing out someone's urge to joke just to make it a little more interesting. But it really doesn't. It's like that little weak dying breath someone lets out as a last attempt to live.

Entertainment value: There's repeating a concept over and over like in "Dinosaur Comics" ( http://www.qwantz.com/index.php?comic=1 ), where the same 5 frames have been repeated since 2003 with a new comic every day. (go look at the archive, I kid you not) But I like this comic. Why? Because even though it's the same page, every page has a new way to present what's going on in the frames, to a point that it just becomes ridiculous hilarity, and even if the concepts are becoming a bit vast and large after 6 years, I give the guy credit for trying to still be original and different with each passing page.
But.... then there's repeating a concept like putting the same clip over and over in a show but just altering it slightly. It's the same dialogue with a different background and a different character, but the same basic, bland idea. No one wants to have this sort of thing repeated over and over again, if something doesn't change, no one will be entertained. There's a reason why in the 39 fans 13, count it, 13 (maybe more if I missed any) are also authors in the group. That means there are actually about 26 fans in this, and even then I can't figure out what they find entertaining about reading this. Maybe they were expecting something to happen? Maybe they want to join for some strange reason? I really don't know. But you'd think if characters were in an apartment there would be interaction or something going on. But it doesn't seem to be the case. There really is nothing to go on here.

Now to continue with your other comments:
"!.Plot,I'm sure you should know this by now but...THERE IS NO PLOT IT'S ALL FOR FUN!!!!(not angry)"

The all caps indicates shouting, but you don't need to type in all caps to get a point across. Just capitalizing key words like "NO" and "FUN" can bring attention to them and show what you're emphasizing on without the appearance of angry yelling.
Anyways, yes, there is no plot, and I found it odd that they would rate on plot, but there is nothing else to really rate on. The point is that there's no comic value in this, there's one frame for each person most of the time, and no one seems to try to make anything interesting. After a while, people tend to start WANTING a plot, just so something changes.

"2.Spelling and Grammar,this comic is filled with newbs,what do you expect."

You're right, you will get bagged on. It's up to you, the leader, to make it clear that the people in your group need to stop being newbish and try to spell better, and to use some kind of program with spell checker. Rules and boundaries are the first step to making a large group project look better.

"3.Presentation...Yeah I won't fight you on that one at all..."

I'm glad you can see this, but at the same time, again, you are the leader, you have the say, and you CAN say that maybe some people need to try and have more going on and a better presentation for themselves.

"4.Characters&Originality,WE ARE COVERED IN NEWBS!!!!AND THIS IS A VERY MUCH USED THING I KNOW BUT I THOGHT IT WOULD BE FUN TO MAKE ONE!!!!(not angry though)"

Yes, you are, but it was your choice to accept them and your choice to let them run loose on the concept. It may have been fun to make one, but if you want something like that reviewed, what would you expect? You're asking someone to review a community's collaboration of a concept, and when the concept is stale, your ratings will obviously plummet. It's up to you to either clean out the newbs, or set some boundaries and discuss with those newbs to help them not be so newbish. It's not an excuse when you don't make an effort to change it. You can't just say "Oh well, my house is dirty because it's infested with bugs." You have to make an effort to clean up and get rid of the bugs, or else it's your own fault.

Off topic, since you mentioned it, a 'Manga' or a 'Sprite Comic'? Manga is a term used for comics made in the Japanese style, usually hand drawn. Sprite comics is more of an American concept, and is an entirely different genre altogether.

The master of Wall of Texting has spoken. XD

posted by BaldDumboRat on September 26th, 2009, 1:01 pm



  Sooper fun review!!

Man, that was the text version of the Angry Video Game Nerd. LOVE IT!

But two things: Malakite 'went through the back door...' -giggle-

And secondly: Since noone else will do it, I'm coining the term Comicunism to define a well oiled comic colaboration machine!

posted by mandu on September 26th, 2009, 1:46 pm



  @Mandu

Actually I like that phrase, "Comicunism". If some author collab IS good, I will give them praise with that word.

A FINE system indeed lol

posted by Zanoh on September 26th, 2009, 2:38 pm



 

@Slimey
Um...Zanoh is a guy...good job..

posted by Malakite on September 26th, 2009, 4:00 pm



 

*falls over laughing*

posted by BaldDumboRat on September 26th, 2009, 5:46 pm



 

@slimey: How the hell did you think....?

LOL FOREVER.

posted by Chabo on September 26th, 2009, 5:59 pm



 

Pics or it didn't happen.

posted by Chabo on September 26th, 2009, 6:49 pm



  @Slimey

I was wondering why the Mrs. thought I had a Pantie fetish....I caught you red handed sir.

posted by Zanoh on September 26th, 2009, 6:58 pm



 

owned



@Riku: Quit being so whiny. Maybe if you were actually less nooby we'd give you more respect.

posted by Doomsday on September 26th, 2009, 7:07 pm



 

I COULD draw a lady Zanoh but that might make the world blow up...

Oh yeah, also to Riku:

You said "Dude,I didn't even know who Malakite and Zanoh were before this"

But... Upon investigation:
"Riku96, 19 Sep 2009 01:49 pm

@Zanoh
Yes I would rather you specifically review it and thanks. "

posted by BaldDumboRat on September 26th, 2009, 7:13 pm



  @BaldDumboRat, Mikkem, and Slimey

@BDR and Mikkem: LOL. Rule 63'ed I see. I love Mikkem's comic. Now I am curious to see what BDR's version of a lady Zanoh would look like.

@Slimey:
The one you see in the comics serve as the base for developing my sprite (both). Thing is though it will be some time, and since I do not have any time on my schedule, I thought it would be nice to have something there rather than an avatar talking lol.

posted by Zanoh on September 26th, 2009, 8:31 pm



 

Wow... That's one happy void... *scurries off and laughs evilly* now I must do iiitttt

WE MUST FEED THE VOID WITH LADY!ZANOH PANTIES!

posted by BaldDumboRat on September 26th, 2009, 9:17 pm



 

Oh god what is this I don't even-
http://www.smackjeeves.com/images/pb/1/174QORBrfofxGoPrdDAbFo.jpg

posted by BaldDumboRat on September 26th, 2009, 9:48 pm



 

FUCK.


Now I HAVE to draw lady Zanoh as well.

FUCKFUCKFUCK

@BDR: LOL.

posted by Chabo on September 26th, 2009, 10:03 pm



 

Hot stuff. >u>

posted by Yamataro on September 26th, 2009, 10:23 pm



  Nice.

Loved this. Foudn hilarious.

And chances are I'll find it funny when I'm getting anal bleedage as well. :D

posted by Arc Impulse on September 26th, 2009, 10:35 pm



  @Slimey

Who says I'm a victim? I'm enjoying and loving the creativity here. ^.^

After all, it WAS your joke that started their urge to draw it. lol

posted by Zanoh on September 26th, 2009, 10:58 pm



 

Rule sixty-who?

I am honored and humbled that you would use my term to describe a GOOD collab!

Hee hee, I later came up with,'Just like Communism, Comicunism only works "ON PAPER!" Ba dum pshhh!

-crickets-

no?

posted by mandu on September 27th, 2009, 12:44 am



  @mandu

Rule 63 - If it exists and it is a defined gender, there will be a drawing of it in the opposite gender.

As for the joke, nah, a little forced mate.

In soviet Russia, Comicunism draws you! *Ba dum psh*

posted by Zanoh on September 27th, 2009, 12:46 am



 

I demand for my comic to be reviewed by Malakite or Zanoh.
See it's premium and I think it's a 'Comicunism.' Here's the link. Someone add it to the list please.
http://www.smackjeeves.com/comicprofile.php?id=47145

posted by Yamataro on September 27th, 2009, 12:55 am



 

@ Yamataro
Demand all you want, this request is just absurd. You will destroy us all by making Mal and Zanoh review this site, which in turn will cause a shift in the space time continuum resulting in the dimension we are currently in to be overridden by an alternate dimension, think of the unforeseen consequences....on the other hand...could be fun :P

posted by Malakite on September 27th, 2009, 1:03 am



 

I'll work on Rule 69 Zanoh tomorrow.

It will be topless.

Um.

Yes.


EDIT: Zanoh, is that a cloak/cape or just a hood?

posted by Chabo on September 27th, 2009, 1:03 am



  @Chabo and Yamataro

Well I wear a sage robe trench with a cloak that covers my entire body and hood to cover my head, and my mask covers my face.

I hope that helps. ^.^

@Yamataro:
*reading Anthony's post then checking Yamataro's link* Sounds good to me, I'll review it!

posted by Zanoh on September 27th, 2009, 1:21 am



 

Lol. I thought you might. ^^ Just wanted to see how we're doing. Me and the authors of said comic try our hardest to bring the greatest ... "comic relief and hard facts of life"... to our comic. I hope we get a good honest review. xD

posted by Yamataro on September 27th, 2009, 3:00 am



Post A Comment