The Boxian Comic - Zanoh


July 31st, 2009, 2:47 pm



Average Rating: None

« First Page ‹ Previous Page Next Page › Latest Page »

Author Comments:

  Advertisement, December 14th, 2017, 4:17 am


Post A Comment

Reader Comments:

 

Would you care to review my latest comic, Nokomi's Vengeance?
http://nokomis.smackjeeves.com/

posted by G.I.U.L.I.O. on July 31st, 2009, 3:12 pm



 

I have added it to the list to be reviewed. ^.^

posted by Zanoh on July 31st, 2009, 3:15 pm



 

I'd like a re-review for timebreakers.
http://timebreakers.smackjeeves.com/

Simply because I'm seeing improvements after a page of trying out the suggestions given. And second opinions are also nice to have.

posted by Terminal Devastation on July 31st, 2009, 6:59 pm



 

@TD
To do a re-review you're gonna have to do more than one new comic. Play your improvements out for another 10-15 comics and then come back for a review.

posted by Malakite on July 31st, 2009, 7:32 pm



  Can someone Please

Can someone PLEASE PLEASE PRETTY PLEASE review this comic? http://riqronyepics.smackjeeves.com/comics/665627/chapter-1-page-1/ PLEASE! I BEG YOU PLEASE!!!

posted by TariqLovesComics on July 31st, 2009, 8:20 pm



 

You need at least ten pages for a review.

And major improvement.

posted by Doomsday on July 31st, 2009, 8:21 pm



 

@Zahon: Thanks! ^-^ But I am feeling lucky with my comic..enough to ask for Malakite to review it! >=D

posted by G.I.U.L.I.O. on August 1st, 2009, 3:11 am



 

@G.I.U.L.I.O

I would have no problem reviewing your comic, but sadly your comic cannot be reviewed until you have at least 10 comics.

posted by Malakite on August 1st, 2009, 3:16 am



 

Alrighty. I'll get 10 comics up ASAP then.

posted by G.I.U.L.I.O. on August 1st, 2009, 3:39 am



 

Hell, I'LL do it once you get enough.

posted by Doomsday on August 1st, 2009, 4:01 am



  @Mikkem and Tariqlovescomics

@Mikkem: I have given thumbs up in reviews before. Kirby's Quest, Order of the Town, Nintendo League, and CBCL got a thumbs up from me. ^.^

@TariqLovesComics:
Sorry. You need 10 comics, and I can already tell you right now from those two comics, it won't get a good score.

posted by Zanoh on August 1st, 2009, 5:36 am



 

My comic is cool! Even if it has 3 comics! My family and friends love it! i really dont care what you think. I just need the buzz so other will read.

posted by TariqLovesComics on August 1st, 2009, 12:28 pm



 

If you didn't care what I think, YOU WOULDN'T BE ASKING FOR A REVIEW. =(-.-)^

Also I can understand you made it for you, your friends, and your family...but if that is the ONLY people you made it for, you are pandering to a select few and not thinking long term or big audience.

Since you apparently do not want to adhere to our policy, I will give you a short review, right here, right now.

The story is your character at first complains about a lack of story, and then going out to save Amy with the sonic characters. That is all you showed and already it lost my interest. The humor is dry and is forced. Therefore it falls flat on story. 1/10

Spelling and grammar, Mostly good except you have capitalization errors. Fix that. 9/10

Presentation...is a bit poor. No backgrounds, the text bubbles are either too big that they bound off the panels or border the panel. The text come too close to the text bubble boundaries, and the effects are badly done. Only good things are the sprites are in proportion and the panels are organized. 4/10

Characters and Originality. Your character is just a tails recolor...that is nothing to be proud about. That is just lazy that anyone on Paint and photoshop can do with a simple *replace color* option.

Originality. Your comic stars your character who just happens to team up with the Sonic characters to save Amy. This has been done to death and is not original... 1/10

So in all I give Ricrony and the Epics a 3.75/10. For a title including the word, "Epic", you have shown me, author what an "EPIC FAIL" you have given me...just another beginner sonic recolor comic. The only "buzz" you need is comic education.

posted by Zanoh on August 1st, 2009, 8:19 pm



 

Look, just because your family and friends say it's cool, it's only 3 pages!And having this "my comic is so cool' ego just because your family and friends say so doens't mean it's good.

Would you want to review a movie that's 2 minutes long? That's not even a damn movie.
The rules here are 10 pages or more, or no review. Get over it. Cool or not, 3 pages is NOTHING, you've given us little material to work with. Kid, you for once are a young one who knows how to use proper grammar and spelling as far as I can see, but you really need to drop the ego quickly. If you insist your comic is cool and refuse to believe otherwise, you will never improve, and no one will ever like it but you and your circle of friends. If that's the way you want it, suit yourself, but don't tell us reviewers what's cool and what's not. There's a reason we review. It's NOT to make your comic noticed or known, it's to point out what WE think about it. It's not for praise or to tear it apart, it's for pointing out what's good and bad in a comic.
We are not your little popularity lackeys, and as long as you keep that "I'm so cool" attitude and acting as if your comic makes up 10% of the internet just because your buddies say it's good doesn't make it good. News flash, typically family will always praise what you do, why wouldn't they? Now kindly come back when you've dropped your 'my comic is so awesome it's good even with only 3 pages' attitude, and take the time to make enough pages for us to review it. And don't expect praise or popularity. If you want views, go beg your parents to pay 10 dollars to smackjeeves so your little comic gets advertised at the top of the smackjeeves page every once in a while.

posted by BaldDumboRat on August 1st, 2009, 8:32 pm



 

Goddamit! 1- I DIDNT make it for just the people I know.
2-BaldDumboRat, MIND UR DAMN BUISSNES!
3- I said I wanted a review for buzz! CAN U FUCKIN READ?!
4- I dont have a ego, JUST LISTEN TO THE DAMN SONG!
So fuck off!

posted by TariqLovesComics on August 4th, 2009, 7:25 pm



 

what


What's with the stupid flaming? Just because you don't want to admit that your comic's bad? We told you to improve a little and come back when you have more pages, and you didn't listen, so that's what you get.

...Do you even know what an ego is? Because you definitely have a big one.

You've been given an impromptu review already, so can it.

posted by Doomsday on August 4th, 2009, 7:34 pm



 

DAMNIT DOOMSDAY! AH! I GIVE UP! My comic isnt bad! It's not my opinion! People TELL me it's good Fuckdamnit!

posted by TariqLovesComics on August 4th, 2009, 7:53 pm



 

'People' being your friends and family, who have no experience with sprite comics, and probably think you made all the sprites yourself?

We've all been through a phase like this. You just need to realise that you need to improve if you're going to get respect in the wider community.

posted by Doomsday on August 4th, 2009, 7:58 pm



 

Grrrr.... Look, the people are not my friends and family, they are people i have new heard of. Now, i been sent a pm so i can make better reviews to people and not piss them off like "Zanoh" did me. Can i join or not?!

OH YEAH!
GRRRR......! Grrr'in all the Mother Fuckin' Time!

posted by TariqLovesComics on August 4th, 2009, 8:07 pm



 

If you've noticed, you need to fake-review something before you can be recognised as an applicant. But if you act like this in regards to your own comic, I doubt you will be able to properly review anything. Especially as you have little experience in this field.
But I'm not one to judge. Hop over to the most recent comic and join the discussion there if you'd like to review.

Zanoh gave you a polite and honest review.

posted by Doomsday on August 4th, 2009, 8:09 pm



 

Whatever

And Zanoh just pisses me off

posted by TariqLovesComics on August 4th, 2009, 8:12 pm



 

Kid, get over yourself.

Mind my own business? It is my business, I'm a REVIEWER here. Who's buisness is it then? You asked everyone here if they could review your comic, so everyone has a right to respond to your request. And everyone has the right to respond to your reaction.

The people who tell you it's good are probably all nitwits the same age as you. Most of us here are much older than you, Zanoh is in his 20s, so before you start thinking he's an idiot, reconcider that you aren't even in highschool and he's in COLLEGE!
I am about to hit my 20s, so again, you are telling off the wrong people, little boy. Go get your buzz from those people who tell you it's good and leave us the hell alone if you can't take criticism.

And if you think cussing up a storm is cool, and makes you look mature, you couldn't be more wrong. It's not. You look all the more less intelligent.

3 reviewers here said it was bad, and they would have said it was bad if you even had 10 pages.

You GOT a full review from Zanoh that was typed instead of made into pretty little pictures and you still bitch. We aren't here to give you a buzz, pay attention next time. All these reviews point out if a comic is GOOD or BAD, not to say "OH WOW MAKE MORE PLEASE YOU ARE SO AMAZING LOL HERE HAVE SOME EGO WITH A SIDE OF FAME AND NOTICE!"
So clearly, it's bad. Go back to your sandbox, please. And stop flaming, it makes you look like the only jackass here who's too much of a baby to accept that he can't get his little buzz of getting an asspat review and more people to go look at it.

Though, knowing you and your attitude, your next post will most likely be another post filled with unintelligent swearing and flaming. (I'm going to bet 5 bucks you'll just say wall of text or mind your own business, or some 3 sentence or less blob of nonsensical swearing that would prove you do not pay the slightest bit of attention to what anyone says.)

What do you think reviewing is? Saying "Oh hey, a comic, I'm going to say it's amazing!" With your attitude, there is no way you'll be accepted to review a comic. You'll treat everyone like shit if they don't agree with you. And guess what? You'll have to impress some pretty harsh reviewers who are much worse than Zanoh here to be accepted.

God, you're lucky Malakite didn't give your 'precious fantasticle amazing comic' a review. He would have torn you and it an asshole and a half for your attitude.

And you saying you don't have an ego? Bullshit. If you didn't have an ego problem you wouldn't be so wildly defending this 3 page piece of crap so strongly, you would have sat back, said "ok, I'll make more pages. I understand my mistakes, I will try to fix them, thank you Zanoh."
But NO! You have to defend your little sprite comic like it's the most important thing on the internet because the bigger kids actually see it's not that great. Another hint of your ego, you actually think you can make better reviews that wont piss people off. You think you're better than someone who is over twice your age. And you know what else? There is no way to make a review that wont piss someone off unless you tell everyone they made a fantastic amazing comic that made you shit your pants from how awesome it was. Reviewers aren't people who are there to please everyone, they are there to say if something is good or not.

Zanoh pisses you off because he's not saying what you want him to say. Another ego problem. You expect us to bow down and worship you? Fuck no. I'm not going easy on you just because you're a kid, it's clearly evident that you think you're hot shit and since you talk shit to adults, you'll have it thrown right back at you full force and double the ammo.

Come back when you've had an attitude adjustment.

posted by BaldDumboRat on August 4th, 2009, 10:44 pm



  0.0?

I am only gone for a few days and all hell breaks loose? Doomsday and BaldDumboRat, I appreciate your effort, but the guy is a kid, and we all know how kids act. Since his problem and anger is mostly towards me, I shall handle this matter.

So, Tariqlovescomics, I piss you off? For stating the truth? Understand that the truth does indeed hurt. Life and evolution in life is not all about back pats and compliments. Especially when it comes to sprite comics. Sprite comics have been done to death to the point that it is unheard of. My works are also not above this entirely. It also faces the same criticism. Your comic is neither "cool" nor original. Because this is the first thing you ever made, you deem it as such, and I know you would because it was your first effort. However you should not take pride in it because I have seen better first attempts and ones that deserve praise. So suck up your pride, boy, and accept you need to improve.

It also is disheartening that you are making a fool of yourself. I have read your comments and indeed you are not helping your situation any.

Let's break it down shall we...

Your first reply comment after my synopsis review:

"Goddamit!
1- I DIDNT make it for just the people I know.

2-BaldDumboRat, MIND UR DAMN BUISSNES!

3- I said I wanted a review for buzz! CAN U FUCKIN READ?!

4- I dont have a ego, JUST LISTEN TO THE DAMN SONG!

So fuck off!
"

My response to EACH of those.

1. If you didn't make it for the people you know, THEN stop using them as a scapegoat to justify your work.

2. BaldDumboRat and Doomsday are a part of this review community, SO IT IS THEIR DAMN BUSINESS whether you like it or not. You challenge one reviewer, you challenge the hive. Which is unwise to even try such a thing I might add.

3. I can read just fine. The real question is can you pry it into your thick skull the meaning and purpose of a review? A review is to CRITIQUE your work, not give it praise, congratulations, or, in your case, buzz. Critique, means to analyze, which means to praise the good points and point out the faults. Buzz is only gained for GOOD work and for those who DESERVE IT. They get fans of said work. Yours is not good and seeing your profile, it shows what "buzz" you need. Not fans, but better comic work...

4. You clearly do. Twice you had failed to heed my words and STILL you justify your work like it was the second coming. Only egotists or self narcissism influences it.


Moving on to your second comment:

"DAMNIT DOOMSDAY! AH! I GIVE UP! My comic isnt bad! It's not my opinion! People TELL me it's good Fuckdamnit!"

Your comic IS bad. Honestly I ask you to compare your work to, oh say, "Dream Catcher" or "Kirby's Quest". Look at those and honestly tell me yours is better. If you even utter one more word that it is, whatever follows is just pure bigotry and egotism. Also the so said "People" probably have not seen good comics or are in the same group as you, or could just be you AGAIN justifying your bad comic.

Third comment of yours:
"Grrrr.... Look, the people are not my friends and family, they are people i have new heard of. Now, i been sent a pm so i can make better reviews to people and not piss them off like "Zanoh" did me. Can i join or not?!

OH YEAH!
GRRRR......! Grrr'in all the Mother Fuckin' Time! "

So basically your prior comment of, "My family and friends love it!" was pure made up mumbo jumbo to once again justify your comic. You sir, not only contradicted yourself, but you now are a complete idiot for not making good excuses. By the "people you never heard of", you only mean 3 people that are fans of your work. But that's all you have....3.

Also good luck trying to make a review, because honestly if you can't stand constructive criticism, no one will take your reviews seriously. I didn't make my review to piss anyone off. I made it because you refused to listen, and so I gave you my honest review, an opinion YOU asked for.

Let that sink in, walk away, calm down, drink some tea, talk to your family and friends, then come back. If you are in a better mood and want to improve, ASK.

Smackjeeves is full of people that can help teach you to make a better comic.
If you haven't improved nor matured any, then you are beyond saving. I bid you good day, and good luck, sir.

posted by Zanoh on August 4th, 2009, 10:56 pm



  Hello Again!

http://www.alexnormalday.com/comics/ is where to go if you would do me the honor of bestowing your opinions. I would love to hear what you have to say, as I am always seeking to improve. Again, thank you for your time. :D

posted by mandu on August 5th, 2009, 12:15 am



 

@TariqLovesComics

I have to say, you took some heavy duty brave pills today. As everyone has already said, you need 10 comics for a review, no if's and's or but's about it. Rules are rules bucko so deal with it. Secondly, take heed on what Malakite says at the end of every review, and it is a true statement: "Remember kids, just because you think your comic is good, doesn't mean it is." Now i've read your comic, let me just point out the mistakes you made:

1) No backgrounds, you need these to give the comic some feeling in it, you have to make the reader feel like the characters are existent somewhere other than a white nowhere area.
2)Your text bubbles break through your panels too much, that's a big no no in comics. That's like taking a coloring book and just randomly scribbling on it like a 2 year old and always coloring outside the lines.
3) Your character is a recolor, this is the biggest no no in sprite comic history. Just because you change the color of tails and give him a new funky name, that doesn't mean he isn't tails anymore. So in order for you to claim this character not as a tails recolor, you need to do some heavy modifications to him.
4) You're spelling and grammar is not great at all. You put capitals where they aren't needed and you don't even spell simple words like believe and background correctly which is kinda odd at your age.

Now I can understand making these mistakes if this was your first comic series but considering this is one of a dozen comics you make or participate in, but at this point you don't have an excuse. Your friends and parents and whoever says its great can say it all they want, but I can say this safely, BaldDumboRat has been making her drawn comics for 8 years, I have been a sprite author for 6 years and Zanoh has been at sprite comics for over 9 years. That's 23 years of comic experience between us 3 people alone. We know what we're talking about, you are 11 years old, you're still a child who is nearing his teen years, but you've been arguing with people who are 19 and older. Even though i've only done a few reviews here I've made my own impact as being a straight to the point picky bastard when it comes to my reviews. I spared you the humiliation and simply told you what's wrong with the highest amount of respect I could muster. I can say it wasn't an easy task. So do yourself and everyone here a favor, deflate your ego, and go back to the drawing board with your comic and your own character, fix your mistakes and then come to us when you're ready for a more serious review.

@mandu

I'll take the honor of reviewing your comic for you.

posted by Malakite on August 5th, 2009, 1:22 am



  @mandu

Certainly! Will add you onto the list in Dark Amy Review so the next reviewer will not erase it :).

posted by Zanoh on August 5th, 2009, 1:36 am



 

To Tariq:

those people that say your comic is good obviously don't know how to make one either.

posted by AndyEarthBoundFreak on August 5th, 2009, 10:23 am



  @ bald dumbo rat

IS THAT GIEGUE?

posted by flippityfloppityflup on November 3rd, 2009, 3:07 pm



 

lol, nope, it's an espeon XD

posted by BaldDumboRat on November 3rd, 2009, 6:56 pm



 

darn't
Mother 1 is one of my most favorite games.

posted by flippityfloppityflup on November 4th, 2009, 5:59 am



Post A Comment