Malakite Review - Timebreakers


July 20th, 2009, 2:11 pm



Average Rating: None

« First Page ‹ Previous Page Next Page › Latest Page »

Author Comments:

  Malakite, July 20th, 2009, 2:11 pm


This is my next review: Time Breakers
http://timebreakers.smackjeeves.com/

Enjoy!
EDIT: I realized when I read over the 3rd time spelling errors exist. I apologize, I am human after all

List:
FTD:
http://ftdream.smackjeeves.com/

BaWaSoG:
http://bawasog.thewebcomic.com

Kemono Densetsu
http://kemonodensetsu.smackjeeves.com/

peasly
http://peasly.smackjeeves.com

LOL Waffles (re-review)
http://lolwaffles.smackjeeves.com

Tales of the Nihilist (Re-review)
http://ton.smackjeeves.com

The After Subtract (Re-review)
http://tas.smackjeeves.com/

Gladimus
http://gladimus.smackjeeves.com/

Variable Hunters:
http://variablehunter.smackjeeves.com/

The Boxian Comic
http://boxian.smackjeeves.com

Q4CE:
http://questforthechaosemeralds.smackjeeves.com/

Sonic New World:
http://sonic-insertclevernamehere.smackjeeves.com/

Pennhurst (Mature):
http://pennhurst.smackjeeves.com

1000:
http://1000.smackjeeves.com

  Advertisement, October 23rd, 2017, 10:13 am


Post A Comment

Reader Comments:

 

Pure win.

posted by Coconut_Man on July 20th, 2009, 2:21 pm



 

I love your reviews man. Thumbs up!

posted by G.I.U.L.I.O. on July 20th, 2009, 2:24 pm



 

On one hand... I must congratulate you on not being blown away by the pretty and giving me a review that I might be able to actually you know grow on. I have trouble getting a decent review.

On the other hand...
I've almost no random charectors. Every single named charector is there for a reason. And I will get around to developing many of them. Heck many of them exist to help develop other charectors better.

I digress though. I'm trying to get the text from invading so much, but I can't figure out a way to pull it off. Increasing the panel even more seems like an artificial way to increase the number of pages, (AKA lazy authorship) while spliting up text among more panels causes wasted frames. I had to increase the font because of complaints that the font was too small.

posted by Terminal Devastation on July 20th, 2009, 3:52 pm



 

I hope you do eventually get to developing them. As much as i'll take your word for it, I have to review based on what I see from beginning to end. You can continue on from where you are but perhaps one day you might want to go back and fix the earlier comics

posted by Malakite on July 20th, 2009, 4:01 pm



 

Well Terminal, I've learned from experience that many many frames is a huge turn off to a lot of people. I used to do comics in 25 frames, and it really did make a mess of things. I had to make smaller frames, text was hard to place, and people could barely see what was going on. Plus, it just looks like a giant monster.
It may feel like an easy way to make more pages, but it's really not. If you take the time to make things larger and more clear for people, they will appreciate it, no doubt. Most comics are typically 9 or less frames, it's a nice number that makes people feel more comfortable to read and it gives you enough to show a decent portion of what's going on.
Cut the panels, make larger frames, and keep your font large enough to read but small enough that it doesn't invade the page. Depending on the font, 10-14 is usually a good size.
Just don't think of it as being lazy or as an easy way to make more pages, think of it as a way to make the pages look more properly viewable for people to enjoy.

posted by BaldDumboRat on July 20th, 2009, 5:20 pm



Post A Comment