"Sonic New World" ~Badx pt.3


July 10th, 2009, 11:54 am



Average Rating: None

« First Page ‹ Previous Page Next Page › Latest Page »

Author Comments:

  Advertisement, December 15th, 2017, 3:45 pm


Post A Comment

Reader Comments:

 

Wow harsh.

The only part of the review I can really argue with though is the "accent" bit though, because frankly I wasn't trying to write him with an accent. I AM British. Kris says "mate" in a few appearances as well.

I'm not going to argue with your review because it hits the nail on the head. I suck at spriting and when I look at it, I haven't focused enough on the characters.

I'll admit this review was a bit discouraging but what the hell, it's not going to stop me making this crap.

Thank you for the honest review Badx.

posted by Kris the Demon on July 10th, 2009, 1:26 pm



 

NO I think this review is WAY too harsh, I hate to sound like a fan boy but the comic is great and is still on it's way to development

posted by Tailsgod on July 10th, 2009, 1:30 pm



 

I am with BadX on this...

Instead of being offended by it,Tailsgod, you should take what he said to mind and implement it as you go on. He told Kris where he lacked in his comic and where it needs improvement. So instead of acting like a child about it, one must take the proper self evaluation and work on it.

Yes reviews ARE harsh. They are meant to be harsh, otherwise every kook and cranny can make a "comic" and pass with flying colors. Though his words may have been harsh, what he complains about you and every comic artist must take to heart instead.

Learn from your mistakes. That is all.

posted by Zanoh on July 10th, 2009, 2:11 pm



 

Tailsgod, is this your comic? Were you the one who asked for the review? No, not really. So I don't know if you understand the point of this review.
Kris asked for a review because he wanted to see the good and bad points of his comic, and I commend him for it, because without asking for review, it's nearly impossible to find ways to improve. And he took the harsh review maturely and agreed that some things are bad and seems willing to improve it.
Yes it's on it's way to development, but what do you think helps it along? The reviews do. Critique. Even the most amazing artists and writers often ask for or need critique to help them improve or otherwise perfect their creation.
Think about this, if a bad comic had someone give a nice review saying "Wow this is great!" will the author improve? Most likely not, because no one pointed out the faults. If a comic is bad and the author is told it is bad, but the author refuses to believe the review, insisting their comic is good, the author will be too closed to their own little world and ego to change anything, thus the comic will still stay a piece of shit.

Kris here made an effort to find his good points and his flaws, and as harsh as it is, I am sure it has opened his eyes to what he needs to work on.

posted by BaldDumboRat on July 10th, 2009, 2:23 pm



 

I'm just saying this review was WAY too harsh of a review

I mean have you read the comic it at least deserves a 5/10 i would give it a 7.5/10.

posted by Tailsgod on July 10th, 2009, 3:25 pm



 

-.- Again you miss the point entirely. It is HIS style of review. What he said may be harsh, but what he complained about stays.

A 5/10 would be a comic that has a good sense of direction and has it's bases covered. Though it would be bad in presentation and merit. Kris' comic did not cover his bases due to plot explanation. And the characters are just there with no real purpose or gain but by just being there...

As for your score, I will not comment, because it's your opinion. However Kris asked for OUR opinion and he even said it himself, the reviewer hit it right on the nail.

So if the author accepts his mistakes, he is on a sure way to improve. You on the other hand, are not seeing that...And I can not change your mind set. Therefore it is left at that and life moves on.

posted by Zanoh on July 10th, 2009, 3:30 pm



 

Just be glad d00d didn't review it. This is nothing compared to the harshness of some reviews. Things can't always be sugar coated and padded with fluff. If you like the comic, all the power to you, but arguing against the opinion of another person wont change their score. Some people like certain things that others don't.

If you want to know what a review that's 'too harsh' looks like, go look at Miss Narcotic. http://missnarcotic.wordpress.com/2009/01/16/pikasemechu/

Be thankful his comic wasn't torn apart like this.

posted by BaldDumboRat on July 10th, 2009, 3:37 pm



 

After reading some of these reviews,I kinda wanna take a shot at reviewing a comic myself. Bear in mind, I'm gonna give the blunt truth, I'm not even gonna mind my manners or my language if I notice something really crappy in a comic.

If I get a shot, gimme anything you got.

posted by Malakite on July 10th, 2009, 3:59 pm



 

Aww... I was gonna rip this comic to pieces ;_;

Ah well, cant take ALL the work.

posted by D00D64 on July 10th, 2009, 4:44 pm



 

@D00D: You can do it too if you'd like.
@Kris: "I'm not going to argue with your review because it hits the nail on the head. I suck at spriting and when I look at it, I haven't focused enough on the characters." WELL GO AND FIX IT

posted by Doomsday on July 10th, 2009, 8:10 pm



  @Doomsday

Rome wasn't built in a day mate.

posted by Kris the Demon on July 10th, 2009, 8:24 pm



 

I'm just saying: You acknowledge that this is an honest review and that there are things that need vast improvement, but you don't seem to want to make any effort to improve it? I understand your (odd) reply, hell I have things that I hate about my current comic which will take forever to fix...but you should at least try.

posted by Doomsday on July 10th, 2009, 8:59 pm



 

...and I'm saying I will make an effort in future. You can't expect me to drop everything and just fix it. It doesn't work that way.

posted by Kris the Demon on July 11th, 2009, 8:00 am



 

BaldDumboRat...Did you even TRY to read that comic?

There IS a reason it's on ED...

posted by Shadow The Unborn on July 11th, 2009, 8:17 am



 

Heh, my gray genesis Echidna sticks out X3

I like reviews like this, gives out all the important points and it got a bit of a laugh out of me too.

posted by Cresent Night on July 11th, 2009, 8:46 am



 

The horrible sprite that is 'Jaw' is my sprite. It was my first sprite, and I agree that it's not good. I was just experimenting and never felt like fixing it. That pointing sprite is the worst pose on the sheet, actually. I really don't know why I haven't fixed that pointing sprite...

posted by Djoing on July 11th, 2009, 9:37 am



 

Dear God, ED?!?! That's pretty bad... But even ED worthy people have to get a reality slap at some point, right? >_> At least he took the initiative to ask for a review.

posted by BaldDumboRat on July 12th, 2009, 12:28 pm



 

I searched for this on ED and found nothing. I am disappointed.

posted by Doomsday on July 12th, 2009, 8:39 pm



 

@ Doomsday: I'm pretty sure they were talking about PikaSemeChu

posted by metaishopeless on July 12th, 2009, 8:46 pm



 

That's not on ED either :/

posted by Doomsday on July 12th, 2009, 9:01 pm



 

Really? Odd, I've seen it there before. You must have to look under Smackjeeves, I think it's listed under that page.

posted by metaishopeless on July 12th, 2009, 9:18 pm



 

Oh! Yes, it is. Thankyou :3

posted by Doomsday on July 12th, 2009, 9:26 pm



 

The green chick is SARIA, Badx.

She's owned by Apple(the Smackjeeves author who made Quite Different, not the company).

I was too lazy to check if anyone has said this, so...yeah.

posted by Guest on May 20th, 2010, 1:22 am



 

That last comment was mine.

Hey, deja-vu. Inactual deja-vu. The moment you think has happened again actually hasn't happened in real deja-vu.

posted by Bladerna777 on May 20th, 2010, 1:25 am



Post A Comment