Metaright Official Comic ~Afro


May 24th, 2009, 8:06 pm



Average Rating: 2.00

« First Page ‹ Previous Page Next Page › Latest Page »

Author Comments:

  Advertisement, October 23rd, 2017, 10:14 am


Post A Comment

Reader Comments:

 

eh why not AOT but be warned the full story is not set up so please keep that in mind

http://www.smackjeeves.com/comicprofile.php?id=54424

actually could you wait a little while before that review please just so it can be set up abit more

posted by Tailsgod on May 24th, 2009, 8:17 pm



 

@magicherry: You have about 6 actual comics, and they're kinda hard to really locate a plot or character development, so I'd recommend getting some more comics first.

@Tailsgod: Yeah we'll wait. Let us know when you're ready.

posted by Afrohawkman on May 24th, 2009, 8:21 pm



 

There haven't been many positive reviews lately..

But once I get my own comic started I'll be sure to request a review.

posted by Noodles on May 24th, 2009, 8:36 pm



  Okay Garfield was your downfall

I for one am a HUGE fan of Garfield, so comparing yourself to Garfield is just bad for you. You're not Garfield dude. You're really not. Garfield is funny, witty, and charming. He's not random. He has his character developed as a fat, lazy, yet sometimes philosophical cat living with a loser of an owner and a stupid yet cunning at times dog. Your comic has absolutely no character development and your jokes are okay, but they're not Garfield worthy.

And Garfield leaves that house every now and then for epic adventures that tie into each other. The only adventure I remember you doing was the Kracken, which was not only a big rip on Catscratch, but also it was horribly put together with an ugly Kracken and DOTS FOR PEOPLE. Come on. That's just being lazy.

As for originality, that's not what lost you points. The points you lost where the fact that there was absolutely no original spin to anything. The classic hangout scene, the classic author scene...all of them were generic. Your jokes aren't entirely fresh either. The "one character gets merged with another" gag, the "hot (insert instructor here)" joke, and the oh-so-typical "I'm just going to wait here for the entire comic and THEN attempt to make a joke in the last frame" I've seen dozens of times before. They're all unoriginal without any unique spins to them. I never judge originality on the plot itself, I judge it on how the author uses it. You don't use it well, so that's where you lost points.

Any more questions?

posted by Afrohawkman on May 24th, 2009, 8:50 pm



 

@afro- I will

posted by Tailsgod on May 24th, 2009, 9:05 pm



  That's not the real reason

The REAL reason there was a huge zoom-out was because you were too lazy to either sprite a real ship or find your own (probably could've borrowed one from Donkey Kong) and so you found some crappy image in which you failed to cut out well. Then, because you knew it would have looked really bad if you resized sprites, you just stuck a bunch of dots on there. You could have at least had colored text or something when the Kracken was right in front of the ship. I couldn't tell who the heck was talking. AND FOR GOODNESS SAKE, how did you expect us to tell the difference between Meta Knight and the Creator? They were both the same color!

And...an example of what I was talking about what this comic: http://moc.smackjeeves.com/comics/585638/m-o-c-250/

This...this isn't funny. They're just standing there. Not questioning the apple, not paying attention, not even talking to each other. Just standing there. And then all of a sudden: "They suspect nothing" from the apple. WHO THE HELL IS THAT? I could see if you BUILT UP who that was as some villain or something, but NO. IT'S JUST SOME RANDOM APPLE, which we get NO development before or after about. That's what I'm talking about. That kind of joke would be great IF IT WERE DEVELOPED. Otherwise it's just confusing and off.

I know this seems ranty, but I'm generally upset here. It annoys me that I go through all this just to review your comic only to be told the review is "okay" because you don't agree with it. Especially since I made sure to back up all my points, only to be told I'm wrong.

posted by Afrohawkman on May 24th, 2009, 9:12 pm



 

The link to Akira and Souta is wrong in the list. It's http://akiraandsouta.smackjeeves.com/

Thanks!

posted by Mangaka_Zeke on May 24th, 2009, 9:49 pm



 

I figured the review to be fair and straightforward... but that's just me.

posted by Cresent Night on May 24th, 2009, 10:23 pm



 

Unless I missed seeing someone calling it already, I'll review "Kirby's Quest".

May take me a tad though, been pretty busy lately...

posted by Proto165 on May 24th, 2009, 10:30 pm



 

Um...could I get in on this? I tried to apply, I'm not sure what happened but-I'd love to review some!

posted by Mangaka_Zeke on May 24th, 2009, 11:14 pm



 

I'll take "Great some more stupid stuff happens"

posted by Pikachao on May 24th, 2009, 11:54 pm



 

Proto, don't take "Kirby's Quest." The author originally requested that I review it again, but after explaining to him that it was fine, he decided to cancel said request. We just hadn't removed it from the list.

posted by Afrohawkman on May 25th, 2009, 10:34 am



 

Erm, I kinda like this comic. I'm not totally sure why you reviewed it like that, there was TOO a plot... (however minor)

posted by Drawkey on March 29th, 2011, 10:38 pm



Post A Comment