Amy's Revenge - D00D64


May 18th, 2009, 2:10 am



Average Rating: None

« First Page ‹ Previous Page Next Page › Latest Page »

Author Comments:

  D00D64, May 18th, 2009, 2:12 am


FANBOYS: START YOUR TORCHES

But seriously folks, I would NEVER let jealousy make a comic look bad. I truly believe that this is a comic without style, nor substance, nor a good plot.

MIGHTY LIST

Mithril Ruse:
http://www.smackjeeves.com/comicprofile.php?id=41041

Life With Freaks:
http://lifeofreaks.smackjeeves.com/comics/528317/it-better/

FTD:
http://ftdream.smackjeeves.com/

The final zone:
http://tfz.smackjeeves.com/comics/

Light within Shadow(Rereview):
http://lightwithinshadow.thewebcomic.com/w?


Sushi Gummy:
http://www.smackjeeves.com/comicprofile.php?id=26715

The Burned
http://burnedeyes.smackjeeves.com/

Sonic: Quest for the Chaos Emeralds
http://questforthechaosemeralds.smackjeeves.com/

Great, some more...:
http://stupidstuffhappens.smackjeeves.com/

iRobot
http://irobot.smackjeeves.com/

CBCL:
http://cbcl.comicera.com

Sonic New World:
http://sonic-insertclevernamehere.smackjeeves.com/

The Devil's Price:
http://thedevilsprice.smackjeeves.com/

Marvel Heroes:
http://www.smackjeeves.com/comicprofile.php?id=54

Oblate Spheroid For The Win007
http://osftw.smackjeeves.com

Story of Capy
http://a-story.smackjeeves.com/

Jojo's Bizarre Adventure, Grass Green Record
http://jjba.smackjeeves.com/

sonic overload
http://www.smackjeeves.com/comicprofile.php?id=53255

The New Adventure of Link:
http://www.newlink.smackjeeves.com/

Kirby's Quest
http://kirbysquest.smackjeeves.com/

Mobius Zone: http://www.smackjeeves.com/comicprofile.php?id=55261

runway
http://runway.smackjeeves.com

blood blade
http://bloodblade.smackjeeves.com/

BaWaSoG:
http://bawasog.thewebcomic.com

Kemono Densetsu
http://kemonodensetsu.smackjeeves.com/

Death Flavour Cake
http://deathflavourcake.smackjeeves.com/

  Advertisement, December 15th, 2017, 3:43 pm


Post A Comment

Reader Comments:

 

Thank you.
Thank you so much.
Now i know I'm not the only one to think this <3

posted by The Neroe on May 18th, 2009, 2:24 am



 

D00D...Despite the fact that you're lazy as hell (I.E. those walk/run sprites), and the fact I don't toss this around too often...You are awesome for this review...But too much of smackjeeves (sprite community) is too brain dead to see your review as is...And that's quite a pity...

The fact that that tripe got 100+ fans really says we got too many idiots...

posted by Shadow The Unborn on May 18th, 2009, 2:38 am



 

although I faved this comic, i'd have to agree with you, there isn't much to keep one interested, needs more..I dunno...Sonic being Sonic ._.

posted by AnXjak on May 18th, 2009, 3:40 am



 

I can't see the review right at the moment, but judging by the comments, it seems to be a harsh but fair review. When I can, I'll look at the review and see what changes I need to make. Maybe I will restart the comic, but that leaves alot to be desired...
I feel that yes, the personalities have been altered, but I didn't mean for it to happen. Just the story and the jokes are the only thing keeping this comic alive. I need to seriously consider either restarting or getting to the part to explain away personality faults.

posted by Yamataro on May 18th, 2009, 8:09 am



 

AAAAAAAAGH. *torches*

Nah, I honestly don't like it either. Good review, good sir.

posted by Maxillion on May 18th, 2009, 10:46 am



 

http://e-s-c-a-p-e.smackjeeves.com/

PLEASE OH PLEASE can someone review this?

posted by Mr. 'Chidna on May 18th, 2009, 11:05 am



 

"The fact that that tripe got 100+ fans really says we got too many idiots... "

Best quote here

posted by Brandutt on May 18th, 2009, 11:39 am



 

I like this review a lot....

You explain a comic well by your thoughts, and attempt to find the meaning in it instead of what's already written there.

DOOD, you are really good at this stuff. And.... that's about it. Just a bit of crappy praising and thumbs-up from me.

posted by Cresent Night on May 18th, 2009, 12:10 pm



 

Best Review Yet

posted by Tailsgod on May 18th, 2009, 2:01 pm



 

D00D, what program do you use?

Also nice review. I tried reading it once, but got easily distracted because of how pointless and random it was. (Well, maybe not random but...)

posted by Loki101 on May 18th, 2009, 2:05 pm



 

Now I can see it, I'm gonna give my feed back. First off, Shadow isn't emo in my comic. Shadow is in no way emo. He doesn't enshroud himself in death and dispair. He does however express himself in a way that is unique to that of any other charecter. I'd express more but I gtg now. Expect for me to update this.

posted by Yamataro on May 18th, 2009, 10:23 pm



 

@Yamataro: EXACTLY. Shadow IS a giant, depressing spiral of emo that doesn't really give a damn about anyone... Or that's how it WAS anyway; now he's now more like Vegeta now that I think about it, with Chronicles and such.

Point is, Shadow is NOT gothic at all. I fail to see any goticness in him. I thought you were one of those people who think emos and goths are the same, but thats not the case. The point still stands though; Shadow isn't REALLY that goth.

@Loki: I use Paint.net, but I have a ton of added effects.

posted by D00D64 on May 19th, 2009, 12:09 am



  Warning-Text heavy/Spoilers

Yes. But of all the charecter in the series, Shadow expresses himself in a seperate way than most of the "cheery" sonic chars. Thus making him the equvilant of a goth in his world. He doesn't cut, he doesn't see everything as a pointless effort on his behalf. He's far from emo. But he is not goth in the Normal sense. He's most commonly expressed using the colors of him, which are much darker than the other chars. Rouge gets close, but not as nearly as Shadow.

As for the rest, like I said, most of the fans who fav'd my comic want to see what happens next. The joke and the hope of a cameo keep them in while I think out the story. I've had many problems trying to get Amy and Sonic to feel like their normal personas. It's hard though when a situation calls for one thing, when the char would do something else. *Spoiler to Amy's revenge* The reason why Sonic acts so differently is because during a battle with Eggman, Sonic goes through one of Eggman's traps, overused but still. In this trap, events unfurl that show Sonic how his lifestyle is taking away from everything in his personal life. He has no REAL friends, just people who believe the same as he, He has no prospect of his future, After Eggman is wiped from existance, and he has no one who loves him, leaving a void. How would you react after you find out that your best friends, actually were not really your friends? They were barely concerned with you and more concerned with what you do. How would it feel, to know that after you've beaten your foe and he's dead and gone, that you had nothing to look forward to, no kids, no friends, no lover? And how would it feel to know that when everything is said and done, that you had pushed away everyone for your goal, that no one was left to spend the rest of you life with? The reason Sonic doesn't recognize it's Amy is because he believes that someone like her would never change her ways. Amy has looked the same for a long while, even though the charecter design has changed, her personality hasn't. Why start now? So Sonic starts to open up to more people then he did before, which is akward for him. Within the time that Amy takes to become "gothic" enough to express herself, Sonic starts to open up more with his friends. He learns that Knux isn't the stupid moron everyone believes him to be, he learns that Tails is a genius yes, but also a more secluded person than his cheery personality implies. It's deeper than it at once appears. It might have been better to do what I'm doing now before, but I didn't want to do it on MS paint, for you can see by my first comics, how well I did there. *rolls eyes* This has been one LONG ass explanation. I'm not mad with the review, I'm mad at everyone here, who says that all my fans are idiots. Yes, there are some noobs and some devoties, but that doesn't make them stupid. They see that something major is going to happen to change the charecters. And everyone wants to know, if Amy will pick Shadow, the one who accepts her for what she is and who she will become, or Sonic, her lifetime admirer who she loves unconditionally. I'm really surprised at STU. He/she made a comic not too long ago, in which the whole story was on Amy being a lesbian with Rouge. I heard no complaining from his/her fans or anyone who would review it. Yet it got over 100+ fans. Does that mean that all her fans were stupid because they wanted to see lesbian Amy? No. It means they saw what the author is going for. You simply reviewed what you saw. That doesn't make me mad but sad for you. You didn't think on future comics and instead insulted 200+ people for calling them idiots. I can bet that everyone here has fav'd a comic they aren't proud of at first glance but realized why they did. They wanted to see what happened, where it was going, not what had already transpired. So as far as this review, I say it has it's pros and cons. I could also say it's biased but that would get me nothing but a flame war and I have no real proof of it. I feel sad that you would consider my comic to be the smut you put in the plot sequence at the top of your review. You didn't even say it had potential. And I feel sorry for every person here, who agreed that people on SJ are stupid. Maybe it's the fact that your minds are closed to the possiblities. No one fav'd my comic for the possible sex scene or that shit, unlike STU's comic. They fav'd it for where it would go. Now, I'm going to sit back and wait for hate mail or possible flame war. Though I wish for neither.

posted by Yamataro on May 19th, 2009, 8:59 am



 

I had said that when nearing the end I HATED Yuri World...And for several reasons.

1.I was still QUITE new to the comics and no one bothered to chime in to tell me how to improve.

2.Lack of skills/sprites/connections prevented me from doing EVERYTHING I wanted done in the series.

3.To me it was merely a test ground comic. The whole thing was gimmicky. I was new to SJ so I needed something I felt that wasn't done with sprites to catch peoples attention to me. I was seeking to better myself and all I got were these mindless generic comments that made me sick.

4.That half assed Yuri World got more faves then my far more thought out comic (Another Kind of Shy) which makes me HATE Yuri World even more and makes me want to smack my readers of YW...
As for altering characters...The trick is to make it somewhat believable but that varies from person-to-person. To me, Sonic will ALWAYS be the bachelor, to see him stay with ANYONE is alien to me.

To see Amy's Revenge with so many people in such a short amount of time (on top of other issues I have with it) even lit a sort of hatred, DEEP ROOTED hatred for Amy Rose, SonAmy and those who enjoy it and keep the pratice alive.

In summation:
-I HATE Yuri World.
-I HATE Son/Amy.
-I HATE how it yields more fans then AKoS.

posted by Shadow The Unborn on May 19th, 2009, 9:18 am



 

And some of your hatred is well placed. I have certain problems with it as well. But the difference is that you should love to make comics no matter the result or the fact of less fans on a more thought out comic. You shouldn't expect fans to follow the author. It doesn't work that way. It's wha the fans want not what you want that makes whether or not they fav your comic. I don't go to one comic and see the author and say, " O HEY! I SHOULD SEE IF HE HAS BETTER STUFF!" No. The reason I went to that comic is cuz I like that idea, that plot, that joke, or whatever draws me to it. In my case, people want to see Sonamy. Or they think it original for Amy not to be Amy. Being biased on oh i hate sonamy, no fav for you, is not what a reviewer should do. He should judge the plot for what it is, judge the quality of what it has done, and see why are so many faving it. If you believe that people are stupid for faving something, you take yourself away from the real joy of the story. You say Oh they so stupid, when in fact it's, Oh sonamy sucks. Look past the sonamy. If it were to other charecters like in a movie, same personalities, it would be a good movie. But you let yourself be blinded.

posted by Yamataro on May 19th, 2009, 10:00 am



 

i hate sonic series overall

posted by true mercha on May 19th, 2009, 10:06 am



 

Can you please review Ai Buzz?

posted by Kamahi on May 19th, 2009, 10:08 am



 

Look Yamato you seem to be getting my words twisted so let me make it clear.

I know it's stupid to expect people to follow comic-to-comic. Its less about fans and more about trying to prove to myself I'm not a one hit wonder.

I also do not hold the Sonic/Amy against ya but the fact that everything went by so fast it didn't feel like any real transition person took place.

Hell, that statement right there is shooting myself in the foot since pace has been a bitch...Either everything goes too fast (Yuri World) or too slow (common accusation I get towards Another Kind of Shy).

Whatever I do still doesn't feel like enough. I have gone into seclusion in an attempt to perfect the craft of storytelling, comic structure, presentation, quality assurance, flow of dialog, effects, and overall ease of reading and ascetics as a whole trying to ascend.

I suppose I grow cynical and critical since no one besides myself seems to acknowledge the strides I made and the improvements to my work. I made it into Middle Ground CRUSHING Majin Tobias (the one who paved my way) and still I am not content with myself.

I'm very critical of my work, craft, trade...

And would it kill a puppy if you break some of that up into paragraphs? NO ONE likes a wall of text (less used for a joke).

posted by Shadow The Unborn on May 19th, 2009, 10:29 am



 

Sorry. I usually tend to forget where to put paragraphs unless it all goes together.

As for story telling, that is one of the things I too hate. I don't want to drag it out, yet I don't want it to be sudden. So this is how I played it. Sonic is the fastest thing alive. So he would Naturally want to make it fast in falling in love.

Shadow however has a personality of not falling for someone immediately. Instead it takes a while for him. So shadow is the dragged out one, while sonic is the fast and quick one.

You get what I mean? I made a ballance using 2 different chars. Shadow hasn't falled for Amy yet. But he's warming up to her.

And just to get it straight. It's Yamataro. Not Yamato. You can call me Yama but please don't do that. It sounds like you attack my name instead of the arguement.

Lastly, I understand the fact of trying to best someone. I have a couple rivals myself, but I consider them friends more then rivals. They push you while helping instead of making it a competition. If you wanted to best him, you've done it. Now instead of trying to best others, try to have fun with what you do. I know some noobs who are happy making comic, whether or not they have fans. They like that they are stating their story. C+C is meant to help. Not down the reader.

Take Another Kind and make some changes but do it the way you want. That's what I'm going to do with Amy's Revenge. That's right, I'm continuing it. No restarting. And you can just deal with it, not only STU but anyone who wants to down my comic. I'm happy with Amy's Revenge and will not let some reviewers ruin it for me. I'll take your c+c to heart but I'm not going to change my comic, ideas, or joke cuz you say so. That's my stand.

posted by Yamataro on May 19th, 2009, 11:16 am



 

Antisociality =/= Gothicness. I still fail to see how that alone makes him "Gothic" enough to know how to make Amy goth. As for Sonic, he's the kind of guy that does NOT slow down. He's always been an adventurer. A nomad. A free spirit that allows the world to take him wherever a journey may be. He was born to run and be free, and savor the world around him. I cant see him settling down with someone, ESPECIALLY someone like Amy. There's a REASON why she used to be called "Rosy the Rascal" you know.

Also, I honestly feel no grasp from this comic. It lacks a grip on what will happen next (At least to me), as it just feels so straight forward. It's like having a well lit path in a foggy forest, leading from the entrance to the exit; there could be a lot of depth in the forest, but all you see is what is on the path. You need to widen that path. You need to make it seem like things could be different, not just Amy doing everything in her power to get Sonic's attention. That's all I feel, and all the fancy characteristics about the cast wouldn't be able to change that. You need more depth in the story than just "IF I BE GOTH SONIKKU WIL LUV MEH <33333333333" and her trying desperately to get his attention this way. It's pointless having such well developed insight to characters if the plot is still gonna be the same. You say some people might believe Shadow to be a potential match for Amy, but I fail to see how. The only thing I can see people wondering is how Sonic is going to react when Amy has to finally fess up and say who she really is, and even then, I would be very surprised to see Sonic even CONSIDER Amy after that. If Sonic just accepts her because Amy's goth now (Because it is a WELL known fact how crazy in love she is with Sonic), then that would show how damn shallow Sonic is, going for anyone goth. And if he does deny her, Amy will have to face the harsh reality of never getting Sonic, Probably committing suicide, all of which is way too predictable.

But that's just my two cents. You may take them or leave them, it's your choice. I gave my opinion, and I stand by them.

posted by D00D64 on May 19th, 2009, 11:42 am



 

And I accept and appreciate you opinion. But I won't be changing what's been done. Alter it maybe just a little. But nothing drastic. I may go deeper into it then that. But for now, let sleeping dogs lie. Thank you for your c+c.

posted by Yamataro on May 19th, 2009, 12:09 pm



 

Lol, tl;dr wall of text. Why do you guys do that?

You two could make an entire book on the topic.

posted by Loki101 on May 19th, 2009, 2:04 pm



 

I was wondering why deep storylines don't seem to do as well as cheap ones do, and I think after reading Yamataro's and Shadow Unborn's comments, I think I have a good idea on what it is. The Sonic universe is just really hostile to deep storylines.

After thinking about it, what you two were trying to do is what I wanted to do in Sega Exodus. It was a crap series, but what I wanted to do, bad jokes and bitmixing aside, was to create some depth to the characters. Explore what they would be like if they weren't heroes. And as Sonic '06 and Shadow the Hedgehog have proven, it's pretty difficult to explore these characters or make anything but a superficial gloss.

Look at the series. Based on the personalities alone, you can tell the designers at Sega didn't put that much work into characters. Sonic is fast and free, Knux and Shadow are loners, Tails is smart, Amy's a stalker. And the fact is, it takes a lot of experience to put through on the page what you want to see them as in a way that doesn't come off as contrived. Which is why the poorly characterized series tend to do better. The inexperienced authors don't know how to do something deep, so it seems closer to Sonic canon then those going for something bigger.

Currently, iRobot is my sandbox series. I have a few other ideas for a Sonic comic, and once I feel a little more in control, I'll probably start one. Hopefully, someone manages to do it well.

posted by robybang on May 19th, 2009, 2:15 pm



 

Guys... seriously, tone down the massive walls of text. Seriously.

posted by Maxillion on May 19th, 2009, 2:56 pm



  Actually...

Well, that's not it. It's not that the Sonic universe, or fanbase, is hostile to deep storylines, they just don't want to differentiate too far from the original. It wouldn't be too bad to actually make some of the characters three dimensional, but a lot of people execute it badly. Most dark storylines change the character way too much, often causing the fanbase to lash out against it because it's not their character. And in most cases I agree. Things like post apocalyptic comics are good examples of situations that go too far away from the character. It's not the old games though; Sonic Adventure 1 and 2 pulled off the characters well. But it's the new ones that just don't work well.

The problem isn't giving a personality to someone, it's giving the RIGHT personality to someone. A good example: SatAM. They did it right. Sonic was still a speed demon who could come up with good plans usually and a lot of optimism, which is why it was so popular, especially today. (Why the hell did they cancel it?) That's a good personality to tag onto him.

Sonic '06 is a BAD example. They made Sonic into a depressing, cocky moron. Originally he was cocky, yes, but once he ran into trouble, they messed him up. They made him care way too much when he usually never does.

But I'm not here to argue over the Sonic series. The main issue as I see it here is that a series based on nothing but a stalker with a crush seems like it would need a lot of writing that just doesn't seem like Sonic's character. I understand the idea of making him deep, but the one thing about fan comics is that the fans have to make their own sense, otherwise it'll backfire.

Personally, I don't like the comic either. It's not the SonAmy I'm really concerned over. I just don't like the idea of taking my favorite speed demon, slowing him down by some made up traumatic event, and changing up my 3rd favorite chick in the series (second is Tikal, first is Cream) just to attempt to give Sonic a love interest. Sonic shouldn't slow down for me. That's just my opinion.

As for my unbiased opinion...it seems like a comic based on nothing more than a girl changing herself for a crush. Where have I seen that before? In every teen sitcom ever. And what's the moral of the story? Don't ever change, because your friends will ditch you and your crush will prefer you as you were originally. If that's not the ending, well...I really don't know. I probably still wouldn't read it.

@Maxmillion: We can't help it. We're analyzers.

Here's the TL;DR ver: I don't really care for the comic because of it's premise. That's basically what I said.

posted by Afrohawkman on May 19th, 2009, 2:57 pm



 

...I freaking love you guys. <3

posted by D00D64 on May 19th, 2009, 3:04 pm



 

To...many...words... ...

posted by FlyingMonkey on May 19th, 2009, 3:47 pm



 

Its official. Our "readers" have attention spans of goldfish... -_-

posted by Shadow The Unborn on May 19th, 2009, 4:03 pm



 

You know guys, if you didn't read it, we'd appreciate it if you didn't mock it. We don't just type out all that just to get "TL;DR" every comment. We do it for a purpose. If you can't understand that, at least respect that.

posted by Afrohawkman on May 19th, 2009, 4:27 pm



 

too many god damn words

good review

posted by Irby on May 19th, 2009, 4:29 pm



 

Well... that proves one thing...
No matter what comic your doing... your fans only come for the comic. Nothing else.

posted by Yamataro on May 19th, 2009, 4:35 pm



 

DOOD, you're bashing BACKGROUNDS.

Seriously? What else are we supposed to use???

posted by Metaright on May 19th, 2009, 4:50 pm



 

I didn't really bash the BGs used. I just said they were the typical ones, which is fine since location doesn't seem to be a necessity in this comic.

posted by D00D64 on May 19th, 2009, 4:55 pm



 

Way to be a shithead, Irby.

posted by Afrohawkman on May 19th, 2009, 5:07 pm



 

To anyone who posts tl;dr, we're critics, that's what we're supposed to do. It's not just saying "this is good, this is bad", it's saying WHY something is good and WHY something is bad. It's about understanding why people make things the way they do, and what makes them popular. That's what Afro, Shadow, Yamatarro, D00d, and I are doing; we're opening up a dialogue. What we think might lead to agreements, disagreements, whatever, but I'd rather see everyone disagree with my opinions and start a discussion on good and bad comics than to hear one tl;dr, which is a slap in the face.

posted by robybang on May 19th, 2009, 6:57 pm



 

You waste type space, Roy. The school system has failed them, what chance do we have of educating them?

posted by Shadow The Unborn on May 19th, 2009, 7:16 pm



 

Ok, Ok...I'm sorry for posting the comment. I don't mind your crit, but all this text gets hard to read when your on an iPod Touch.

Please accept my apology, let’s move on ok.

posted by FlyingMonkey on May 19th, 2009, 8:49 pm



 

I agree. Next review then. I need to review the burned and... hmm... i can't remem... OH wait! Jojo's circus, right right...

posted by Yamataro on May 19th, 2009, 10:00 pm



 

...It's not a circus.

posted by D00D64 on May 20th, 2009, 12:04 am



 

Whateve.

posted by Yamataro on May 20th, 2009, 5:11 pm



 

*Grabs popcorn and starts reading all these comments*

posted by ShadowRobn on May 27th, 2009, 5:38 am



 

Oh D00D. I wondered when this might happen.
This whole reviewing thing is a GREAT idea.
I should join up.

Muahahahaha.

posted by Doomsday on June 7th, 2009, 11:05 pm



Post A Comment