Review of Mobius Hazard ~Valor


December 19th, 2008, 11:13 pm



Average Rating: None

« First Page ‹ Previous Page Next Page › Latest Page »

Author Comments:

  Advertisement, October 17th, 2017, 4:46 am


Post A Comment

Reader Comments:

 

Yay. Review.

posted by Razor on December 20th, 2008, 1:09 am



 

Whoopy. I haven't done a review in years, SOME ONE GIVE ME SOMETHING!!! Every time I try to get a review, it's taken...

posted by Leo on December 20th, 2008, 9:35 am



 

hey i see my comic on that list

posted by Ultimate the Hedgehog on December 20th, 2008, 10:29 am



 

Leo: My comic "Reign?"

posted by Icnos on December 20th, 2008, 1:31 pm



 

I was GOING to review Reign, but it only has 6 issues. Not a lot to say.

Oh, and if you are going to continue Reign, DON'T USE BOTH ADVANCE AND BATTLE SPRITES. THERE ARE MULTIPLE DIFFERENCES BETWEEN THE TWO, AND IT'S THE BIGGEST N00B MISTAKE ONE COULD MAKE. I AM NOT SAYING YOU ARE, HOWEVER.

...We need some kind of "Minimum Pages Required" rule.

EDIT (April 23): Geez, no WONDER this whole thing started; I totally overreacted with this. Yeah, it's my major pet peeve, but it's not like the ENTIRE COMIC IS RUINED FOREVER because of it. It's only a small Visual thing. I would have given the visuals a 3/5, but like I said, the comic is too short to review properly.

Like... Seriously, I went nuts on this page. Having my ability to voice my opinion threatened kind of does that...

posted by D00D64 on December 20th, 2008, 3:41 pm



 

Is there a link or tutorial that tells the difference? I was going to use some Emerl sprites for a comic, so I need to know this too.

EDIT: Nevermind...
http://spriters-resource.com/resources/tut/sonicbattlepage.png

posted by robybang on December 20th, 2008, 3:55 pm



 

DOOD64: Oh...I dodnt knwo oyu were going to. And...Your really going to cry and bitch about the differences between Battle and Advance...? Who gives a fuck...you cant even notice...and if you would take the time to actualy notice that...I dont want someone like you reviewing my comic. When I get more issues in...someone ELSE is going to be reviewing it.

BTW..."NOOB" is the geekiest, nerdiest fucking word out there. If I were you I wouldnt use it.

End of discussion...

posted by Icnos on December 20th, 2008, 8:40 pm



 

I don't take the TIME to notice it. I notice INSTANTLY. I can see the differences a mile away. It's obvious to me, and many others. It has occurred in many, many, MANY other comics, and it annoys me. Perhaps I HAVE overreacted, but it is still not very professional; it shows a lack for detail in a lot of people's eyes. It almost gives the impression you don't give a fuck about the comic. I am not saying you do, and I am not saying you don't care about detail; I am saying that Battle and Advance are different, they should not mix, and that it is indeed quite noticeable. That is just my OPINION however; I am just posting to best illustrate my judgment. All reviews are opinions. I am not saying you NEED to listen, but if you don't listen to people, well...

...Let's just say your millage may vary.

And yes, "n00b" is a terrible, lame term, but I couldn't think of a better one at the time.

posted by D00D64 on December 21st, 2008, 9:39 am



 

This arguement is worthless, and whether or not someone notices the difference between Advance and Battle does not matter at all. Okay? Totally pointless. Get over it.

posted by Loki101 on December 21st, 2008, 1:54 pm



 

It DOES matter Loki. It is a detail that is commonly neglected, and one I do not tolerate. Details in comics today are few and far in between. They are often rushed out the door without a touch of polish and care. Hardly anyone decides to change a facial expression on an enlarges sprite, or change the time on clocks for the time spent in the issue. It's these little details that show you care about the little things; it makes the quality of the comic better, and shows consideration towards the comic in general, and that you don't just crank issues out just to make the impatient fans go "OMG UPDATE OR ILL UNFAV AND GIV 1 STARZ" all the time.

Loki, everything matters when you do ANYTHING, not just comics. Are they minor? Sometimes yes, but it is something you need to consider, for even if it just SLIGHTLY matters, it still matters.

posted by D00D64 on December 21st, 2008, 2:39 pm



 

Wow D00d, I never knew you were all hardcore on this stuff. But personally, I think it all really comes down to writing. I don't care if the clocks don't change time or if Advance mingle with Battle sprites. They're certainly pluses, but if the jokes are cliched and the dialogue is crappy, the visuals probably won't save it.

posted by robybang on December 21st, 2008, 3:11 pm



 

I'm not saying those don't matter; I'm saying details show you actually GIVE A CRAP about the way your comic is. I mean, how many n0... Er, "Beginners" show they care so much that they would do even the most seemingly-pointless things if it makes their comic the best they can? Few, sadly.

posted by D00D64 on December 21st, 2008, 3:41 pm



 

If you continue ranting D00D, I'm just going to start deleting your comments.

You do know that, right?

And I agree completely with Robybang.
Besides, the "writing" part of things is where we get our "Author" titles from, right?

posted by Loki101 on December 21st, 2008, 3:41 pm



 

Go ahead then. I am doing what I signed up to do; illustrate my opinions on comics. I'm not here to slap on some scores and call it a day, I'm here to show I give a damn about comics in general, and hopefully make them better.

Deleting my posts shows you are against what I am doing. You are no better than the people at Gamespot.

You remember what they did, correct?

Well, here's a bit of a refresher:

A reviewer reviewed a game called Kayne and Lynch: Dead Men, and gave it a not-so-satisfactory score. But Gamespot was advertising that same game. I don't remember what occurred afterwards, whether it was that he was fired, or a lesser punishment, but it let to nasty results. The people raged, and some reviewers on the site quit and made their own site. Their reputatuion was tarnished forever, because they punished a reviewer for doing his job; reviewing.

I may not be reviewing a comic, but I am stating my opinions on comics in general. And you just happen to be someone with the power to delete my statements. But masking those statements will NOT prevent how I think.

A good reviewer must be able to understand and judge all things, and evaluate all areas, but still care more about the main meat of what is being judged, and, most important of all, not be afraid to say anything. I'm not going to cower from you, or anyone else on the staff, Loki101. Go on, delete them. Infact, try to get the guy(or gal) who runs this to discontinue my authorship on this comic, if you feel THAT strongly about silencing me. Hell, get a mod to ban me while your at it! That way, NOBODY will hear my ideas on these matters. You sweeping my words under the rug will not prevent what has already been stated, Loki101, because you can't hide one's voice!

Also, I screen capped everything and copy-pasta'd everything on a notepad document, so I'd still have a record of it somewhere. Not here, but somewhere. that way, not even YOU can prevent my voice from getting out.

Your move Loki101. What will you do? will you leave my text alone, and live with it? Or get rid of it all, and pretend this never happened, illustrating childishness? I leave that to you.

EDIT:
Oh, and here's some copy-pasta:
I'm not saying those don't matter; I'm saying details show you actually GIVE A CRAP about the way your comic is. I mean, how many n0... Er, "Beginners" show they care so much that they would do even the most seemingly-pointless things if it makes their comic the best they can? Few, sadly.

Now then...

Good day sir. I shall await your response.

posted by D00D64 on December 21st, 2008, 4:13 pm



 

Fine, jeez. Give advice. Get off my back. o_o

posted by Loki101 on December 22nd, 2008, 5:38 am



 

Wow.

posted by The Neroe on December 23rd, 2008, 10:29 pm



 

...What the 'ell is this then?

posted by Yamataro on December 24th, 2008, 12:14 pm



 

DOOD: You are 100% right....except you need to undertsand you review the comics...WITH A COMIC, not on a fucking comment thats not even on your comic...nobody said anything to you...you just came along and started bitching about advance and battle. I am starting to belive you are the childish one typing huge paragraphs...about FUCKING SONIC SPRITES. FUKING. SONIC.SPRITES.(its how it all began dude...) Get over yourself...pff.

So...its up to you...choose to be the childish one and keep bitching...OR be the bigger man and apologize.
Now I'M awaiting YOUR response...

posted by Icnos on December 27th, 2008, 4:09 pm



 

Icnos...let it go. Yamatoro just did a huge rant about trust and not arguing with each other.

posted by robybang on December 27th, 2008, 8:42 pm



 

@Dood:

Will you just fucking shut up? Seriously... hearing you saying like that stuff makes me want to call you a friggin' young brat. Oh wait... scratch that... make that a friggin' baby! It tells me that since you are making a huge babyish fuss over the details on the graphic, it... and I mean IT TELLS ME THAT YOU HAVE AN OBSESSIVE CARING DISORDER. (O.C.D.)

Now get over it.

Know what? I realized just now... you are just literally ripping this comic over. You are turning this thing upside down.

Please do me a favor and GTFO. Kthnxbai.

You know what too? I think banning you out of this comic would be better for us. I know that this action are not gonna happen just like Gamespot. Such things like you would not be perferred to be asked to review on cause since what happened, you are one shitty, fucked up bitch. For what I know, what are you gonna do when you get kicked off? Make another review comic? I think that would rather be called as a rip-off comic. Hmmm am I right? No? Think about this... you got kicked out, you go about to create another comic just cause you got kicked out from the one you were reviewing. What is your move now huh? Come on.... pray tell.

Now Icnos and I are awaiting for your fucked up, "comic-ripping" comments. Let her rip Dood.

posted by Snurple-the-Hedgehog on December 27th, 2008, 8:43 pm



 

Snurple, D00d hasn't commented for like a week. However, here you go trying to start this whole thing up again. If anyone is "ripping this comic over," it would have to be you and Icnos for flaming about something that happened a week ago.

posted by robybang on December 27th, 2008, 9:07 pm



 

Meh...

I do not care how old this argument is. I rather leave a message and not hear a word that concerns about his rights of having a voice to be spoken and whatsover about the sprites. I mean...

W
T
F?!

Who gives a damn about how bad or how good the graphics are?! Do you? Pray tell, do you care or do you not?

To tell the truth... I don't give a shit how bad they are, to me... they are just good as they are, PERIOD.

Oh ya...btw... please don't call me Snurple or it would sound like you are ordering a smoothie from me.

everyone calls me Meteor, I would be more confortable if you do so. Kthnx.

No other words about this anymore, mmm'kay?

posted by Snurple-the-Hedgehog on December 28th, 2008, 7:14 am



 

Meh...I'll quit with the lil bitcher...however..I will await his reply, because nothing he says will effect me...because I know hes the childish one. I've had almost everything in the book thrown at me(in real life)...I just pop em'. DOOD's acting like im some sort of criminal to question his authority of reviewing on a comment...that sure proves maturity...

So DOOD...feel free to post whatever you want about me...how childish I am...the works.
Just dont be suprised if I comment back and make your post look like shit.

So ima stop now before people get really annoyed...

Kthxbie ;]

posted by Icnos on December 28th, 2008, 7:13 pm



 

@Icnos: I agree somewhat; I AM very finicky when it comes to sprites. VERY. EXTREMELY even. I really was over the top on it, wasn't I? But I wasn't going to make a comic about this because it was not a full review. It would be pointless to make an entire review to make one statement, right?

Yeah, I overreacted over it, and I probably am too focused on this kind of thing to be a good reviewer, and for that I apologize.

But I still don't like the idea of people silencing others over their beliefs. That stuff puts me over the edge. Still, civil disobedience is still disobedience...
And yes, I ripped that off of The Best Page In The Universe.

@Meteor: I definitely agree I have O.C.D. when it comes to some things (DEFINITELY sprites), but RIPPING THE COMIC APART? That's a bit much, isn't it? I didn't do anything to anyone ELSE, just arguing with Icnos and Loki, really. Seriously, what did I do to the comic itself?

...Other than fill this issue's comments with this argument.

Also, I care deeply about the adv/battle mix. It just feels so WRONG to me. For a long time, I felt this mix of styles was wrong, and I started seeing them as two entirely different types; to me, it's comparable to mixing Rittz style. with CN style. I do agree I pushed this too far though.

Also, if a comic had EXCELLENT writing, but terrible art/sprites, would you rather read the comic, or read a text-only version?

@Everyone: I am no longer an author here, and no, I will NOT make another review comic. Perhaps I'm just not cut out for reviewing.

posted by D00D64 on December 28th, 2008, 10:46 pm



 

@ Dood: Well... I don't think its a little over the edge and yea... I would like to read text-only version. I like them better than a graphical version. Kthnxbai. Sorry to offend you but, since you left... it lifts the weight off somehow, it just how I feel. -shrugs- Besides... how can you even make fighting scenes without using Battle sprites since they have more battle poses?

posted by Snurple-the-Hedgehog on January 6th, 2009, 7:16 am



Post A Comment