Aware ~ D00D64


August 25th, 2015, 5:00 pm



Average Rating: 1.00

« First Page ‹ Previous Page Next Page › Latest Page »

Author Comments:

  D00D64, August 25th, 2015, 5:11 pm

I sure took my sweet time, didn't I?
So... Reviewing this comic made me end up liking it less. I don't think I've had that happen before. Regardless, that's the review. I really struggled to try and finish the end of it, and I think I wasted too much time nitpicking visuals that wern't even that bad (except the entire Digimon part, ugh), and it was originally gonna be two pages, but I was able to merge them into one.

I don't know what the heck I review next, but hopefully it won't take so long next time.

  Advertisement, December 16th, 2017, 2:19 pm


Post A Comment

Reader Comments:

 

I have to say, a lot of the things listed above are the reasons I've not got on with Aware myself. I like Niv's stuff, but Aware for me didn't click on quite a number of levels. The visual issues not so much - they're kinda common in most series which aren't specifically made to one style - but the wavering meta-logic and the characterisation (or kinda lack thereof) of Ket have always given me trouble with Aware. It's a shame, because for the most part it's a visually appealing comic from a good author, but... yeah. Plot and characters aren't for me, especially with the loose logic of it all.
Good review in my mind, look forward to others from you.

posted by Dregan on August 25th, 2015, 5:32 pm



 

I would like a request for Sonic Dashly to be reviewed.

The webcomic can be found here: http://www.smackjeeves.com/comicprofile.php?id=87024

posted by G.B.A on August 25th, 2015, 6:05 pm



  Alright.

@G.B.A: I'll take a look at it.

posted by witswithme on August 25th, 2015, 6:36 pm



 

Hm. When I read Aware I got the impression that in the comics universe the character of Niv didn't have complete control of the universe, like the characters had free wills, even those who weren't awares. And that events would progress even without her influence. Like she's more of a greek god then a omnipotent god.

posted by Ren Fowl on August 25th, 2015, 7:21 pm



 

Hmmhmmhmmm~ Ohohohohoh my, you have just opened up a whole can of worms...~

But yes, this is an interesting review, to say the least, and a few of the things in here are actually going to be addressed... soon-ish? I never really know how long chapters will be before they're made, but I can tell you this much: World [11] and World [13] are planned to have some character development and backstory respectively for Ket, which should address a few of the things that come up here. The other things I'll keep in mind as I work on the pages in the future, and it should be interesting to see how this affects future developments.

@Ren Fowl- Yeah, that was the sort of thing I was going for, since a lot of the time when I write it's less "I want this to happen" and more "this could happen but if the characters wouldn't realistically react that way then it won't", which does give off a major feel of "I don't really have full control over them", especially with characters like the Ket Twins who disregard all the wall stuff.

(In other news - Niv is literally only in the comic because Ket is. Ket's awareness means author interaction was going to happen at some point, so it just sorta happened as soon as it possibly could.)

posted by Shard on August 25th, 2015, 9:19 pm



 

Alo question, I believe there is a certain amount of pages you must have on a comic before its reviewed, could I get a reminder on how many please? Thanks.

posted by Royle McCulloch on August 28th, 2015, 9:15 pm



 

I think I set it at 10, but honestly, 20 would be best.

posted by Yamataro on August 28th, 2015, 10:59 pm



Post A Comment