Kirby Adventure ~ D00D64


March 1st, 2015, 10:41 pm



Average Rating: 2.50

« First Page ‹ Previous Page Next Page › Latest Page »

Author Comments:

  Advertisement, October 17th, 2018, 6:45 am


Post A Comment

Reader Comments:

 

This... is probably the most thorough review I've seen so far~ =o
Not to say that the others weren't, but I think you really gave this comic a fair attempt~ =3
And wasn't Kirby's "species" called the Star Warriors at some point? Or at the very least, that's some kind of grouping that Kirby was a part of, no...? =o

posted by Whip the Rabbit on March 2nd, 2015, 1:39 am



 

I believe Star Warriors was the anime, which... had its issues. I'm not sure how canon Star Warriors as a species is, but if you need a name for Kirby's species, that'd work too I guess.

posted by D00D64 on March 2nd, 2015, 2:03 am



 

Umm.. Sorry for posting so many times, but did my comic get on the list? I never got a response so I wasn't sure..

posted by revzet on March 2nd, 2015, 3:51 am



 

A 3/5? Y'know what? Considering all the stupid and unfortunate decisions I made with this comic when it first started that I've had to work around nowadays, that's a pretty fair rating.

Personally, I'm not sure why the names bother you so much, but eh, I guess that's just a personal preference of mine.

I was worried about the crossover segments, though, because as you said, they are kind of a mess. I learned my lesson on those sections a bit too late.

I didn't even think of the usage of multiple Kirbies would be something to get hung up by, but you definitely make some interesting points. Now, it's just a matter of seeing if I can work in an explanation into the comic. Better late than never.

Also, the url is inconsistent because kirbyadventure.com was taken by an abandoned and unused comic from eight years ago. I don't have any real excuse for the name, though. It was conceived before literally everything else in the entire comic and I suppose it's just stubbornness or something that has caused it to stay the same since then.

Either way, thanks for the review, and I'll try and take as much of this as I can into account for future pages!

posted by Ultimate Yoshi on March 2nd, 2015, 12:18 pm



 

@Ultimate Yoshi: If I may step in and perhaps offer a few responses to your queries from an outside point of view? Having sorta fancy names like 'Zyxiel' and 'Meztabor' and all that is fine... to an extent. The issue is when you have a LOT of characters with these bizarre-sounding names, all of which look very similar. Due to the mishmash nature of the names which are largely unfamiliar to your audience, it becomes harder to associate those names with certain individuals, as they breakdown in the head as just sorta random syllables. Weird and outlandish names are fine to make characters stand out, but when you have a lot of them it becomes harder for the mind to recollect all the names because simply put, they're words the brain isn't familiar with.

As for the multiple kirbies thing... Well, honestly I find that an issue due to partial colour-blindness. Certain warm colours tend to meld together for me, and it can be hard to identify different shades of certain colours. When you have 20 or so characters who's only visual defining trait is their colours, when you're having trouble learning all the outlandish names... yeah, you're not gonna know who is who.

posted by Dregan on March 3rd, 2015, 9:29 am



 

As far as having multiples of Kirby's species... I honestly think it'd be more bizarre to have Kirby and Meta Knight as the only puffballs. Makes a bit more sense to flesh them out into part of a species. Though calling them "Kirbies" isn't really a good idea.

...Somehow, though, this is mostly making me think that I could probably use a prologue-type thing on my own comic. For as much sense as that makes.

posted by CapedLuigisYoshi on March 5th, 2015, 5:27 pm



Post A Comment