The Navigator?! - Bar'd


January 2nd, 2011, 6:09 pm



Average Rating: None

I might have missed some things, but maybe that's because I was drunk... And enjoying my female form...

« First Page ‹ Previous Page Next Page › Latest Page »

Author Comments:

  KonaTobennh, January 2nd, 2011, 6:26 pm

What the Blah-what!?
Okay, first thing's first... the link to the comic.
http://barred.smackjeeves.com/

Second, the comic with the cameo application on it.
http://barred.smackjeeves.com/comics/569893/closing-call/

Now my comments.
Well, I was requested to be the one to do the re-review for Bar'd. So I gave it a read, and it brought back memories of my days in the Ol' TG Space War I joined back in '10.
(It's not the first time The Navigator has become a girl. If you want to read some pages: http://soratobennh.deviantart.com/gallery/27984385 )
So for Nostalgia's sake, I brought back the Female Navigator.

Of course, there was something else I wanted to do, and that was put Navigator in a Barmaid outfit. Unfortunately, my 15 year-old eyes caught glimpse of a topless bar maid outfit while searching for one with a top. Now, I'm up for giving embarrassing clothing to my characters for a good laugh, but if the standards are too low, I won't do it. I was going to turn the Navigator male for this comic, but it was too late. The pics were done, and the new Twitter was updated. (It was made for fun)
http://twitter.com/#!/Navigator763
So the Navigator was stuck Female for this review.
Of course, I couldn't just explain the whole "Navigator was female for a reason." in the Author's Comments. There's some people who don't read them. So I thought it was best to put those last few panels at the end of the review.

Well, enough of my rambling.

EDIT: Let's play a game! State what I've missed or continuity mistakes I've made

  Advertisement, August 18th, 2017, 3:08 pm


Post A Comment

Reader Comments:

 

I agree with this fully, although as the comic goes by i think the originality and plot will improve.

posted by Blitzn'Burst on January 2nd, 2011, 6:35 pm



 

well, the review was fair. although, personally, I think it dserves a higher score, it's a fair review, and it got a high-ish score.

posted by blitz5000 on January 2nd, 2011, 6:39 pm



  @Blitz

You know what, now that I realize it... I'm farsighted, and maybe a near sighted person would see the transformations more clearly than I, but I remember Vas gaining more legs, and I couldn't see them.

posted by KonaTobennh on January 2nd, 2011, 6:42 pm



 

Thankyou very much for the review, I thoroughly enjoyed it, and pretty much have to agree with it for the most-part.

I will make a few pointers though - more clarification than anything else. It isn't so much a collab between me and Exer - though he does supply a fair number of the characters, and does the html, the writing and comic creation is entirely my own work.
In terms of the new bars chairs, I actually make a brief passing comment on page 200 that the new bar 'even defies the laws of physics', so you're right in noting there's a problem there. Whilst I enjoy spriting, I'm not so much a background person - someone made that for me, but vanished before I could get him to fix any problems. I'll try and get that sorted at some point, when I'm more capable myself of working on the background.
I need to ask when you're saying some of the transformations are hard to see, can you clarify which ones? It'll help me in future to sort of iron-out changes better to make them more visually powerful.
Maximillion's a rat - I don't think I mention it directly in the comic itself, but I thought I may as well say it - it's primarily just playing off how he acts in relativity to his species. Nothing big, just thought I'd mention it.
A few of the characters do appear in BANG, but this is more coiincidence than anything else - a lot of cameos found Bar'd through my membership at BANG, and probably vice versa.
The 'Caek talking to narrator thing', I will admit, is somewhat my bad. It's in reference to a spin-off comic of Bar'd, which was a CYOA. The commands and narration of that have sort of developed into a form of Schizophrenia - think Deadpool. She's only recently introduced, so I'll try and clarify a little better in-comic with her.
In terms of Vas having a thick exterior... I've mainly tried to avoid that with him actually. I try to play him as more under-the-weather than being particularly harsh in any way, but I can probably see about altering how I write him a tad there.
Though this stands against me, not sure I exactly deserve an originality point for 'TF Sprite Comic'. They may not be so common generally, but on SJ specifically, there's actually quite a lot of them.
Lastly, Yamataro has actually already cameo'd, just with a different character, 'Mutsumi'. XP

Anyways, as I say, overall, thankyou for the good review, and thankyou for rating me so highly. Glad it entertained you, and I can't wait to see more reviews from you.

Edit:
He didn't gain more legs at any point (Beyond the extra pair he already he had). HE DID however, gain an extra pair of arms temporarily.

posted by Dregan on January 2nd, 2011, 6:59 pm



 

@Kona: I already cameod. :D

posted by Yamataro on January 2nd, 2011, 7:11 pm



  @Dregan

Thank you for the clarification.

I assumed it was a collab since there were two authors. :p

You can probably tell that I don't read much sprite comics, nor do I have enough knowledge of my peers' characters outside this reviewing comic. ^_^'

I think Stew's appearance should have been a clue for the TF Sprite Comics. >_>

I think this might have been fixed, but in the 50th comic, Ze is kinda skinny so it's hard to see him TG'd. There's also your Avatar (Don't want to get it wrong, but the blond guy is your avatar right? Pony tail?), kinda hard to see since he's usually covering his chest, and it's hard for me to see the curves. Then again, this could be my farsightedness, so I'll need a nearsighted person to confirm my suspicions...

posted by KonaTobennh on January 2nd, 2011, 7:25 pm



 

I tend to leave the chest open whenever the author avatar is first changed, just to give people the glance before I fold his arms, but I can see where the problem is there. I should be redoing my author sprites soon anyway. As for Ze... yah, I had a lot of trouble with him on that comic. The character wasn't exactly easy in terms of changing, without giving him giga-boobs, which I thought would be a tad much seens as it wasn't my character to do that to. ^^; Thanks for your own clarification there.

posted by Dregan on January 2nd, 2011, 7:31 pm



 

Oh, I'll be taking Detective Tarson.

posted by Noodles on January 2nd, 2011, 8:24 pm



 

Yippee!

... Should I be yippeeing?

posted by SushiGummy on January 3rd, 2011, 1:11 am



 

woot for BANG.

posted by Jake E. Fisher on January 7th, 2011, 6:34 pm



Post A Comment