Double Review, and time's up-Yamataro


December 19th, 2010, 6:08 pm



Average Rating: 3.00

« First Page ‹ Previous Page Next Page › Latest Page »

Author Comments:

  Yamataro, December 19th, 2010, 6:14 pm

So, it's time to fire.
Below are two reviews. The list of people staying at this moment are...
Malakite
Cookieluv
KingCorp
Flantic
Badx
Zanoh
Blue-Senoire
BDR
And Myself. Everyone else, is going to be fired. If you wish to reapply, it will be possible, but expect the possibility of being fired easily if you do not update monthly at least.

For those of you who wish to join the team, sign up, and send a dummy review, to either myself, or Malakite. Wish you luck.

Also, someone fix the list please? Some links don't exist, and some have already been reviewed. With That out of the way, REVIEW TIME, in text form, as I'm lazy.

Edit: Also, I have a new upcoming project soon. Check it out here...
http://www.smackjeeves.com/comicprofile.php?id=90690

  Advertisement, August 21st, 2017, 1:30 am


  Yamataro, December 19th, 2010, 6:15 pm

Nightmare before Christmas: Pumpkin Prince Review
http://www.smackjeeves.com/comicprofile.php?id=22438

Presentation - 10/10 - Welcome to what could be one of the greatest fanfics I have read in a long time. Banner, The title page, the whole nine yard's screams of the cult classic. This fan fic is complete with songs, original in creation, a great artist who knows their characters, style, and how to bring the feeling of the drawing to life.

Story - 9/10 - This time around the story focuses on Jack's son, Zack. Zack is a scardy cat, unable to scare others, out of fear of himself. On his search to find himself and to stop being the scared boy he is, Jack decide's that he needs a friend. Calling upon Finklestein, Jack has a friend made for his son. Experiment 72, someone like Sally, who helps Zack to conquer his fears, and to become frightening. But things are never as simple as they seem. Lock, Shock, and Barrel show up, when Zack frightens off 72, and they convince her to rebuild Oogie Boogie. Oogie then turns and eats his minions, as he starts his conquest to eat all living things. It's one tale, I won't ruin the ending to.

Characters- 8/10- Jack is Jack, Sally/ Sal, but it's the new characters who take front row. Zack, is a spitting image of his father, minus the emo-lock of hair. And in some ways is like his father. This is the same as with 72. You can compare them to characters from the original. But only to a small degree, as the characters begin to seperate from their cut outs, to become their own characters.

Originality - 10/10 - While fan fics are never original, this one, with it's original story, Characters, and even tunes, it does the thing most fan fics fail to do. It's its own original story, without verring to far off the canon story, and making people do things they shouldn't. This comic avoids all the big fan fic no no's and shows the reast how to do it.

Total - 37/40 - 92.5%

  Yamataro, December 19th, 2010, 6:17 pm

Gataverse Chronicals
http://www.smackjeeves.com/comicprofile.php?id=76914

Presentation - 8/10 - Upon looking at the banner, one would assume a drawn comic. While some of the comic is indeed drawn, most of it is sprited, and there's even some... photographic comics... So hopping on in, it's a comic with multiple stories. Or as some people have come to call it, a 'Sandbox' comic. This idea originally became a fad when an author named Shard, started these types of comics. Where she got the idea, is anyone's guess. But besides the somewhat misleading banner, the rest of the comic is presented nicely.

Story- 6/10 - On the parts that Have story, the story is original in most aspects, but some seem almost dry, and you can expect what will happen later. A good story keeps you not only guessing, but keeps you entertained. With the constant shift of comics, sometimes you can loose track of the comics. And some of the 'newb' or daily cheese comics, have no story whatsoever. Why those ones are posted in this comic is beyond me.

Characters - 4/10- Good news, for the most part, it's a original cast. It seems that a boy, named Gatamigo, created this place called the Author Dimension? And with it, brought his family there. This includes Beth, Dave, and Chris. Problem with this? So many characters, almost no character developement. Some of the characters, you can tell what their personallity is. Others, it's just uncertain what they are doing, and why. Develope the characters. Backstories can help in this.

Originality- 9/10- Characters, location, and comic Ideas are all original in this mash up comic. But the comic in general, the idea of a mash up comic is not. It's been done several times over, hell, even by me. But that's small in comparison to everything else. Overall, very original. Even the... picture comics... even though I never was a fan of that type of comic.

Total - 6.75/10

Post A Comment

Reader Comments:

 

I disagree on the characters, as it would give it at least a 6, because there is some character development, but i understand completely.

posted by Blitzn'Burst on December 19th, 2010, 6:55 pm



  0.0

That was a nuclear explosion of pink slips. I haven't seen this much genocide since....the massive LOLz of Lady Zanoh.

posted by Zanoh on December 19th, 2010, 7:21 pm



 

I gave ample enough time. Some people left of their own accord. This is a reviewing comic. As such, it should be run well. We get more and more reviews by the day. We can't afford those that don't update. :/

posted by Yamataro on December 19th, 2010, 7:24 pm



  Of Course

I am not denying your decision, but you must admit. That was a lot of Donald Trump firings in one go.

posted by Zanoh on December 19th, 2010, 7:32 pm



 

Indeed. So should I be proud of myself?

posted by Yamataro on December 19th, 2010, 8:51 pm



  Depends

Whether good or bad about it, it was a massive event. XD

posted by Zanoh on December 19th, 2010, 9:16 pm



  @Gatamigo

The Donald Trump firings were cruel, but necessary. That doesn't mean the other reviewers won't be allowed back in, it just means that stricter measures are in place.

I won't question our leader's decision, for it is his and his to make.

As for your comic, you are more than welcome for a re-review, but two things to keep in mind:

1. Research the reviewer you want your comic to be reviewed by

2. A review is a review, your preference has no priority over how it is delivered.

With that said, cheers.

posted by Zanoh on December 19th, 2010, 9:52 pm



 

I updated the list some c:

Annnnnnd
omg Q_Q
There were so many people on the author list and now theres barely any. I can see tumbleweeds rolling man.
Fucking ROLLING
Doing backflips and everything

posted by Cookieluv246 on December 19th, 2010, 10:23 pm



 

I just wanted to make sure you guys got my request for a review for Not a Hero:
http://www.notahero.smackjeeves.com

posted by Leo on December 19th, 2010, 10:57 pm



 

@Leo: Need 10 comics to be reviewed.

posted by Yamataro on December 19th, 2010, 10:59 pm



 

Oh, ok.
Well, it's actually 9 pages, just one more.

posted by Leo on December 19th, 2010, 11:03 pm



 

Yep

posted by Yamataro on December 19th, 2010, 11:29 pm



 

Geez, what took you so long? I shoulda been fired AGES ago, damnit.

posted by D00D64 on December 22nd, 2010, 5:23 pm



 

Fixed the list. So everything is up and running.

posted by Zanoh on December 23rd, 2010, 6:01 am



 

Firings were necessary because a lot of people (like me) though didn't have the time to review comics never bothered to quit themselves.

My problem why I never quit is that I always told myself I would make a review soon, but stuff always came up and I never could. xD Ah well

posted by metaishopeless on December 31st, 2010, 5:33 pm



Post A Comment